Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · 430EX II accessories?

gome1122
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 430EX II accessories?

I got a 430EX II a few weeks ago and I am going to be doing portraits over summer, so what would you recommend? An umbrella, a Soft box? I'm new to the idea of flash and studio lighting, so help is appreciated.

Jan 19, 2013 at 07:17 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 430EX II accessories?

With one flash outdoors you'll want to get it vertical off axis to avoid overpowering the downward natural modeling with flat flash.

You first need to get faces up into the skylight (sun at back) so the brow doesn't shade the eyes by standing on a rock, bench, ladder then have the subject look up. The you want the flash to model the face the same way from the same downward angle. Raising the flash with a bracket does that automatically and produces flattering lighting on full face poses. Outdoors there is nothing to bounce the light so you need a modifer that projects light forward and is as big as practical. Outdoors with a 430ex range is limited by power and the bigger the modifer's footprint the more limited the range wili be.