Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · question

sandman22
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · question

I am just getting into doing some studio shots and was wondering if I would have a decent beginner setup if I had an alienbees b400 for main light and 430exii for fill light all indoor home studio shooting. Any other suggestions would be excellent. Thanks

Ben

Jan 14, 2013 at 02:42 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · question

That can work, although two ABs would be better in many respects.

You can use the 430 on-camera for near-axis fill, or you could move it off camera with a cord for off-axis fill. Bouncing it off a large white surface, umbrella, or soft box would soften the fill.

How are you planning on triggering the lights?

Jan 14, 2013 at 02:53 AM
basehorhonda
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · question

biggest thing is just some modifiers. I started out with a 24" and 36" umbrellas and then worked my way to using softboxs and a beauty dish. Dont worry about getting a bunch of stuff right a way. Get one, learn how to use it and then go from there.

Jan 14, 2013 at 04:01 AM
sandman22
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · question

thanks for the info. do you need to spend money on top end softboxes or do cheaper ones do the job?

Jan 14, 2013 at 05:26 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · question

If you buy the studio light it will be like standing on the dock with one foot holding the studio light and having the other foot in the boat with the 430ex. You'd have half of an ideal studio lighting solution and half of an ideal location / candid solution.