Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Assistant?

gome1122
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Assistant?

I'm sorry in advance if this is not the right place to post this in. I'm 16 and looking to maybe go for a career in photography, but before I arrange my senior year in high school towards photography, I would like to be an assistant at a studio and assist at a wedding.. I know all the basics and quite a bit more. I would just like to get some studio experience now. Photography is an every day thing for me. I shoot a lot for my school and a lot of people know I am a photographer, but I would also would like to start doing senior portraits over summer. I have read quite a bit on photography and I know that the business side is the hardest part of a business, so how should I go about doing the portraits(as far as pricing contracts and tax maybe?). But how do I start applying to studios to be an assistant. I don't have a portrait portfolio or any reference of any sort. How do I convince someone to let me try assisting.

Jan 12, 2013 at 03:42 PM
Skarkowtsky
• • •
p.1 #2 · Assistant?

Cold call. Find local photographers whose work you admire. Call and speak to their receptionist, try to get through to the photographer. Walk into studios, too. Try to get to the photographer or the studio manager.

Take any level assisting job you can get. Don't try to jump to first assistant right away. You'll have to learn how that particular photographer works, what he or she expects most from an assistant. Your job is to make the shoot as effortless as possible.