Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2013 · Bounce Flash for Wedding Formals

michaelneal

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Bounce Flash for Wedding Formals

I am shooting a wedding here at the video below and am wondering if it appears a bounce flash would be sufficient as opposed to setting up a large umbrella and strobe for formals. I am a pretty experienced photographer but this is my first wedding. I could probably get away with no flash but I want these to be excellent photos.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCI3hFBVlvA&list=UU6yyXNuvNxXLAVkSIV1izfw&index=3

Jan 08, 2013 at 12:32 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Bounce Flash for Wedding Formals

michaelneal wrote:
I am shooting a wedding here at the video below and am wondering if it appears a bounce flash would be sufficient as opposed to setting up a large umbrella and strobe for formals. I am a pretty experienced photographer but this is my first wedding. I could probably get away with no flash but I want these to be excellent photos.

You have a nice camera for wedding formals; you can use a pretty high ISO setting to get lots of ambient light exposure for the environment.

Some flash to isolate the subjects is a good idea, but if you have only one flash I'd suggest using it direct, rather than bounced. (If you can get your hands on more than one Speedlite, then you can use one direct, and one or more bounced, for the best of all worlds.)

I've never used strobes on location at weddings; I've always used Speedlites, and find the level of portability and controlabilty from the camera to be ideal.