FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       4       end

Archive 2013 · First wedding coming up! [HELP!]

smukshots

Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · First wedding coming up! [HELP!]

joelconner wrote:
I am so glad I did not know about this forum before I started shooting weddings. If I had (and had asked for advise), I might have freaked out and never started.

Yeah ... it can be discouraging.

But eye opening and helpful...
All advise and criticism is good just depends how you take it. (my opinion)

Jan 04, 2013 at 02:41 AM
KibblesNbitz
• • •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · First wedding coming up! [HELP!]

I've seen people with far less talent post about doing their first wedding here and they got less criticism for it Probably because those people were doing it for free and you're charging, but still....

I think you'll do a very decent job. Your website/portfolio has a lot of great shots, and I'd say your overall ability level is way above most people that post about doing their first wedding or any hack off craigslist. You really should have insurance, but I completely understand why you don't right now. Doesn't make it correct, but I understand.

One little tip I can give you for the formal/group shots....I know you said space will probably be limited, but use the longest focal length lens you have, whether that be the upper range of the 70-200 or a 135L or whatever. The telephoto compression does a lot to make formal/group photos look way better than anything you get with less than 85mm.

Everyone is giving sensible advice and each point is very valid.....but sometimes you just have to get out and do something in order to grow and flourish.

Jan 04, 2013 at 02:52 AM
Ian Ivey
• • •
p.3 #3 · p.3 #3 · First wedding coming up! [HELP!]

But still I think I am not going to use flash because the church is decently lit (recessed lighting)... I don't want to be too distracting