FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2012 · Help me pick a full frame body

chuck77
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Help me pick a full frame body

James R wrote:
Chuck77, It comes down to preference. RRRoger would not trade his D800 for a D4 and I sold my D800e because of the D4. The D800e will provide some problems if you don't have good shooting techniques. If you want a pro body, then buy a gently used D3s. Otherwise, buy a D800. I looked at your photos, which are pretty eclectic and basically snapshots. You might find more pleasure learning post processing and the basics about exposure, ISO, and shutter speed (Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure... is a good starting point). I don't mean this as criticism. This is
...Show more

James R, you are absolutely right. I will definitely look into that book. I haven't had any formal training in photography (self taught), so anything I can learn is a plus! You mentioned that the D800E will provide some problems with improper techniques. I was under the impression that it's the exact same camera as the D800, but with slightly sharper image quality. Could you elaborate?

I tried out both the D800 and D600 with the grip today at the store. The D600 does handle much better with the grip, but it did nothing to change the fact that the handgrip on the body is still way too shallow to hold comfortably. Meanwhile, the grip on the D800 is excellent, and is alot more like what I am used to with my gripped Canon 40D. The bad news is that the D800 grip is $350! I will probably wait for the price of the grip to go on sale later.

Dec 31, 2012 at 05:41 PM
James R
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Help me pick a full frame body

chuck77 wrote:
James You mentioned that the D800E will provide some problems with improper techniques. I was under the impression that it's the exact same camera as the D800, but with slightly sharper image quality. Could you elaborate?