Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Gang Two Soft Boxes Together

SweetMk
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Gang Two Soft Boxes Together

I am a shoe string photographer (cheap!), but, I am interested in doing more. I recently acquired a 17" Larson soft box.

My first attempts at taking pics with the soft box amazed me! In reading other posts, as well as the sites that sell the soft boxes, it seems large rectangular soft boxes will give softer light.

I was wondering why I could not gang two 17" soft boxes together, stacked on top of each other, each with their own speedlight, to give the effect of a larger soft box?

I understand the concept that the larger soft box would soften the light more than a small soft box, from a single light. BUT, possibly the light from dual soft boxes could even be softer?

Dual speedlights would help insure I do not run out of light as fast. The soft boxes could be angled, simulating a "Lightbender". I just see much more versatility to this setup.

I have one soft box, I have multiple speedlights. The purchase of another small/medium soft box would be easiest on the budget.

Am I misunderstanding this concept? Am I heading towards disaster?

Dec 12, 2012 at 01:32 AM
myam203
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Gang Two Soft Boxes Together

You are correct. Putting two together would effectively create one larger light source. Go for it!

Dec 12, 2012 at 01:59 AM
SweetMk
• •
p.1 #3 · Gang Two Soft Boxes Together

Here is a pic of my current soft box.

Just a gratuitous pic to see if I can add a pic to a FM post! (My first FM pic)