Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Camera Advice

GeorgeBay

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Camera Advice

Hello this is my first time on this forum, I am a former pro from the film days, I am now interested in establishing a small studio once again, Portraits/Events. My question, ...is it absolutely necessary to spend 3 to 4 thousand dollars on one of these top of the line Full Frame Canons or Nikons to get good quality images? or are some of these mid priced cameras suitable? ..if that is so, some recommendations would be appreciated. I constantly read camera reviews and it seems like whenever they review a lesser priced camera there is always that BUT in the conclusion, usually relating to noise in low light ..or some other image degrading flaw!

Thanks George

Dec 06, 2012 at 03:33 PM
Hammy
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Camera Advice

WTF!

Welcome to FredMiranda!

I moved from film to digital about 11 years ago. My emphasis was sports, so my first digital body was the 1D. 8fps and RGB snowfield at 1600ISO - but that didn't stop me from using it! We're now roughly 5 generations ahead of where I started with the 1Dx (in the 1D series) not to mention the other D?? and ?D series.

As a general rule: Each new generation of body will have better high ISO capability. Meaning that the lower ISO ranges improve also.
Also, generally, each new series improves in AF capability and/or options/features to help you achieve more 'programmable' results for your shooting style.
Finally, with each new model, AF resolution usually goes up - which is usually the marketing point - and where many photographers feel they NEED GigaPixel sensors.