Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Serious backcountry setup ?

workerdrone
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Serious backcountry setup ?

I grew up backpacking and camping, often staying out for days at a time or camping in the full winter. So I'm familiar with what I want to bring under any conditions to stay alive and comfortable outdoors.

What I'm struggling with a bit is what to do if I want to take an extended trip with a good camera kit, which I've never done before. Always just brought a point 'n shoot and micro tripod before.

Most of the packs I see seem to be focused on bringing lot of camera gear and not on the pack mule's needs, or separating things like wet clothes, water bottles, filthy gear, fuel bottles, etc from said expensive camera gear.

Thinking maybe I would just put a pelican case with body and couple lenses in my large backpacking pack and strap a tripod to the outside, but what do serious wilderness / wildlife photogs use to get into the backcountry and stay there? Are there packs I'm not aware of that hit this balance nicely without lugging a pelican along with the works?

The internal pelican doesn't work either if I want to rent a super tele and protect it, which is another thing I'm considering if I plan a nice backcountry trip.

The gura gear kiboko looks nice for large lenses but not for the hiking / camping part. What else?

Dec 05, 2012 at 10:08 PM
workerdrone
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Serious backcountry setup ?