Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Profoto Acute 2R vs AcuteB2 Air

BostonGreg
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Profoto Acute 2R vs AcuteB2 Air

I recently sold my Elinchrom Ranger Quadra setup to upgrade to Profoto. I'm a photog student at Boston University's CDIA and I get some really great prices on Profoto gear thru B&H EDU Advantage program.

I had my heart set on the Profoto Acute 2R 1200 s/s 2 Head Value Kit for $3000.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/239611-STUD/Profoto_900795_Acute_2R_2_Head.html/mode/edu

I just came across the new Profoto AcuteB2 600 Air power pack and wondering if this would be a better kit for me. And did I just miss out on getting the free $850 AcuteB head deal? Looks like thru July Profoto was offering free AcuteB head with purchase of B2 Air pack.

I'll be using the pack 75% for indoor portraits and taking on location 25% (mostly outdoor sessions in the city). From what I gather the B2 is very comparable to the Elinchrom Quadra and made to be a portable/location lighting solution. Looks like it also only has ability to power one head?

This will be my first Profoto purchase and i want to get the right setup. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am also very interested in purchasing the ring flash down the road and curious if that will work with the B2 pack? I'm guessing it's all about size and portability. Is the Acute 2R 1200 so heavy that I will not be able to take on location? Thanks in advance for any help!

-Greg

Nov 14, 2012 at 10:50 PM
Deezie
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Profoto Acute 2R vs AcuteB2 Air