Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · What To Charge - Licence Question?

Stephen Elms
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · What To Charge - Licence Question?

I'm hoping someone can assist with a question I have about licencing an image. I have just received a message from a marketing company that wishes to use one of my images for a client. They are asking me if they can get a licence for the image and what the costing would be. I have never done this before so I honestly have no idea what I should be asking in terms of compensation for the image. Can anyone make any suggestions, or suggest any follow-up questions I should be asking the marketing company which might assist in determing the cost?

Also, when they refer to the "licence", is that merely me giving them my approval or is there an actual legal document I need to provide?

Thanks in advance and I appologize if this is an ignorant question

Nov 09, 2012 at 10:38 PM
MikeDitz
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · What To Charge - Licence Question?

It all depends on the use, the smaller the use the smaller the fee, a larger use will be worth more to both the client and you. A picture used by Coke all over the world is worth thousands and thousands of $ while a picture used by Ellen's Flower Shop, not so much.

The License can be as simple as the invoice you write up for them which would describe the picture, how and where it'll be used, for how long and for how much $$$

Remember, there are no ignorant questions but there are plenty of ignorant answers

Nov 10, 2012 at 01:34 AM
cwebster
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · What To Charge - Licence Question?