Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Shooting clothes on plain surface... not to look flat (?)

tomasg

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Shooting clothes on plain surface... not to look flat (?)

The long story short:

I got an assignment from my job (I work as a web developer in company who deals with clothing, and I have some experience as enthusiastic not-a-pro photographer, working mostly in natural light), to shoot some clothing (from kids dresses to all sorts of adult clothing) in a studio environment. They asked me to try it because I already have an experience dealing with cameras, framing, manual controls and so on. The problem is that I have more or less no idea how to shoot with studio lighting. Next week I go to the studio to try to make better, more alive (three-dimensional) captures than the people got which tried to make product photos before me, without any photographic experience.

Couple of weeks I've read some blog posts, watched videos about studio lighting and getting the three-dimensional look. And I get an idea, if I'd have to capture people. You have background, You have model at the distance from the background, you lit background and subject with a different angle, different power light, and the subject pops out automatically. The problem with my situation is, that the clothes have to be put on the background, so I don't have any distance between subject and background. If I put the subject on the background, I could light it from both sides at 45 degree angle to get rid of strong shadows, but I'd get the same images as my co-workers made before - they're completely flat.