Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Squarespace for your Website? Anyone?

Dennis M 1064
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Squarespace for your Website? Anyone?

http://www.squarespace.com

Has anyone tried, or is anyone using this for their website and or photography blog?

Oct 09, 2012 at 12:37 PM
pistonsfan1600

p.1 #2 · Squarespace for your Website? Anyone?

I'm a student, and I shoot photos for our campus newspaper. I use Squarespace for my personal blog and photo galleries.

You can see the site here: boanderson.com

I'm not seriously trying to sell prints or book clients. Its more of a place for me to showcase my images for friends and family. With that being said, here are some Pros and Cons over my time using Squarespace.

Pros

Squarespace is easy to set up. A lot of their templates (especially the new Version 6 ones) are geared towards photography portfolios.

The images look stunning, and you can add images or galleries to blog posts.

You can also easily import an old blog. Importing my wordpress blog took about ten minutes. All images and tags were intact.

Cons

This may be my own problem with image size, but the images on my main page can take a long time to load. It has been tough for me to find the balance between high quality images and quick loading pages.

Right-click protection is not enabled by default. However, you can use the code library to add the protection in.

If you have any deeper questions, feel free to ask.

Oct 09, 2012 at 06:17 PM
Dennis M 1064
• •
p.1 #3 · Squarespace for your Website? Anyone?

I'm just heading out the door, but it sounds like you have exactly the info I'm looking for. I'll catch up. Thanks for the response!

Dennis