Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · High Key tabletop, white dice on white background

eco_bach

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · High Key tabletop, white dice on white background

Hi
I have an upcoming project and am a realtive novice to product photography. I need to shoot some white dice against a white background that fades into a light blue
ie
http://www.flickr.com/photos/67526655@N06/7776487086/in/photostream

There needs to be some obvious but not extreme perspective on the dice as well as a shallow depth of field

I am renting a Bowens 500R 2 flash with umbrella kit (which I have never used before).

Will be using a 7D....probably with a 28-75 zoom, using the sider end of the focal length at around f2.8 or f4 but not 100% sure.

I might try and capture some motion with the flash as well so will keep the shutter speed at a sync speed of 1/125.

Questions:
Should I be able to get close to the attached background fade simply by modelling 1 of the flash units?
What is a good series of tests I should perform to get my desired result?

Aug 13, 2012 at 09:05 PM
BrianO
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · High Key tabletop, white dice on white background

eco_bach wrote:
...I might try and capture some motion with the flash as well so will keep the shutter speed at a sync speed of 1/125.

Can you explain this in more detail? I always think of flash as "freezing" motion.

Aug 14, 2012 at 06:13 AM
BrianO
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · High Key tabletop, white dice on white background

eco_bach wrote:
...Should I be able to get close to the attached background fade simply by modelling 1 of the flash units?

Two ways among many to get a transition from white to blue: