FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

1       2       3      
       end

Archive 2012 · Hyperbole Abound

SloPhoto
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.4 #1 · p.4 #1 · Hyperbole Abound

The fact that this forum can still support some critique is why I read it so often.

While I should likely stay out of it until I am a better photographer, I strongly feel that it is a great tool for pushing each other to do better.

Two key examples-
I posted to another FM forum a photo with some processing that I was unsure of. I learned NOTHING about how to refine/improve that processing from the critiques posted. (just a bunch of "thats great" type comments)

A member here posted one of his first weddings to this forum and to a separate wedding forum (lets call it forum B). It was a fairly rough wedding, and he received tons of critical viewpoints here. On forum B he received nothing but a bunch of pats on the back. Fast forward several months and he has become far better in several respects that directly correlate to the critiques he received here.

Jul 06, 2012 at 09:28 PM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.4 #2 · p.4 #2 · Hyperbole Abound

I thought about a situation Chuck found himself in on another forum. He offered a tactful, helpful honest critique. He bent over backwards to not be negative, although it was warranted. The OP was a little defensive, but acknowledged the truthfulness and intent of the post. However, out of the blue came a battalion of white knights to defend the honor of the OP. The attacks on Chuck became personal, questioning his motivation. The OP was cool (sort of), it was others who showed their rears.

Jul 07, 2012 at 01:48 PM
Ziffl3
• • • • •
p.4 #3 · p.4 #3 · Hyperbole Abound

marti.g3 wrote:
Opinions are like..............everyone's got one.

heard this the other day.....

opinions ... every has one but my opinions are right.

Jul 08, 2012 at 09:50 AM
Sergio Mottola
• • • •
p.4 #4 · p.4 #4 · Hyperbole Abound