Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · I am excited for the 5DIII - so there.

Golliwog

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · I am excited for the 5DIII - so there.

Yes I'm a new poster, get your first post trolls out of the way.
This forum has been great to me over the years and I really enjoy the community, but this Nikon announcement has reduced you all to crying children.

The D800 is a GREAT looking camera, and for many people it's what they have been waiting for. However for me it isn't, so I'm going to keep happily shooting my other cameras which work just as well as they did 2 days ago before the announcement. While I am not a pro, a member of my family is, and he finds very few limitations that affect his business from either camp. For what it's worth he shoots everything from weddings to sport. Canon's AF could use an update in the 5D line, it's true - but hey, nothing is perfect. The D800 looks amazing for people that need the resolution, it shoots decent video and has good AF / weather sealing. How many of you need that many pixels, and how many of those that say they do are pros and will actually suffer? I'd guess you are the 1% (ha.)

Me? I would like 16-20mpx, weather sealing, more DR, better AF, amazing high ISO and better video than the D800 (no long-GOP codec & better highlight rendering). If the 5DIII delivers most of these, well thats great and I'll buy one. If not, I'll keep enjoying photography.

Your gear is great, enjoy your toy and appreciate that your camera is better than 90% of what your friends will ever own.

Feb 09, 2012 at 11:14 PM
Gochugogi
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · I am excited for the 5DIII - so there.