Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · 1.4x mark 1 & 11 questions

Matt Ward
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · 1.4x mark 1 & 11 questions

I am a hobby photographer who likes reasonably good gear, have a 20D and a 7D, several older L zooms, couple select primes and a 100 USM macro. I have a 300/4.0 L IS on the way and have rented a 400/5.6 that I really liked. So, to make the 300 due double duty I am considering a 1.4x TC. Will it really matter to me whether I choose a mark 1 or mark 11? Are there any glaring drawbacks to the mark 1?

Thanks Matt

Feb 09, 2012 at 06:30 PM
JohnBrose
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · 1.4x mark 1 & 11 questions

Wont really matter, I think the mark2 has weather sealing. Quality wise I think they are pretty close. I think Luminous lanscape didi a comparison way back when the 2nd one came out. The pro Kenko converter is quite good also-I cant tell a difference between it and my canon mrk2. Remember your camera's won't auto focus at f-stops above 5.6 so your 400 wont auto focus with the converter unless you get a 1 series body.

Feb 09, 2012 at 06:40 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · 1.4x mark 1 & 11 questions

Matt. Looking at your profile (if it's current) you may want to steer clear of the canon TC
The canon tc's only fit a few of the canon lenses. Your 300 and the 400/5.6 will be fine but your other stuff won't.
The kenko will work with any of your stuff. The macro in particular can be quite handy to mount the TC on.