Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Upgrade path from Canon 7D

stevenaronson

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Upgrade path from Canon 7D

I am an avid ametuer sports photographer. I shoot all varieties of indoor and outdoor youth sports, primarily high school, with a 7D + 70-200/2.8L, 85/1.8, and 15-55/2.8. I am interested in investing in upgrades with two goals:

1. Increasing reach, specifically for field sports
2. Improved AF and noise in low light (High School Gyms)

My primary targets are a 300/2.8L (any version) and a 1D (1V or -X)

1. What are some good criteria for selecting between a Mark IV and a 1D-X?
2. Does the difference between the APS-C and the full frame sensor impact my choice for a telephoto lens for outdoor sports?

Feb 08, 2012 at 08:34 PM
TrojanHorse
• • • •
p.1 #2 · Upgrade path from Canon 7D

1) good question, nobody has a 1dx yet but the 1dx is FF, and the 1div is 1.3 so your average field sports photog *may* prefer the 1d4 unless he has 400 and larger lenses.

2) Absolutely. If you think 200 is short with a 1.6 crop, wait till you try it on full frame.

Feb 09, 2012 at 06:55 AM
msalvetti
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · Upgrade path from Canon 7D

Hi Steve. I also shoot HS sports on an amateur basis, in Saugus. My main tools are a 7D, 70-200 f/2.8, and a 100-400.

If I had the money, I would go with the MkIV. I also shoot nature and aviation, and I'm pretty sure I wouldn't want to lose the 1.6 or 1.3 crop. I might feel differently if I could afford a 500L, but I'm not going there anytime soon.