Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · I'm New, I'm a Beginner

mr_gordon

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · I'm New, I'm a Beginner

Before I get too in depth with my story, I'm a complete beginner and hardly know anything about photography. I've read beginner quick tips here and there but have not really sunk my teeth into the meat of photography yet. Know all criticism is welcome and appreciated.

So I just returned from a weekend trip to the beach in Galveston, TX and was lucky enough to get some really interesting shots. There was a nasty storm brewing off the coast which cut our trip short but ended up washing hundreds, if not thousands, of Portuguese Man of War jelly fish upon the shore.

Due to the fog, visibility was maybe 100 yards at best. Below are what I think are some of my best shots taken with the following equipment and settings:

Equipment:
Nikon D7000
Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6G AF-S VR

Settings:
f/4.5
Exposure Time - 1/1250 sec.
ISO - 400

Man of War - 001
Man of War - 002
Man of War - 003
Man of War - 004
Man of War - 005
Man of War - 006

Please critique away and lend me your knowledge.

Feb 05, 2012 at 05:07 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · I'm New, I'm a Beginner

Welcome to FM and photography.

That's an interesting set, with my fav's being #2 & #6. One does a nice job of showing detail and scale with reference being provided by the wood, the other has a nice leading line aspect to it.

Feb 05, 2012 at 05:38 PM
cgardner
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · I'm New, I'm a Beginner

Overall a very solid set of shots compositionally. Technically the exposure on some is under which mutes the tonal range, particularly the specular highlights on the wet glossy sail. I've edited your first one so you can see by comparison...