Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Help Please

TimmyMitch

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Help Please

Hi my first post on here of one of my photos. Have read and looked and more so been amazed by the photos you all take. I visited the zoo not too long ago and was hoping to use one of these two photo on a canvas to hang on my wall. I have no experience in photo editing and was wondering if i could get some help please.

Feb 05, 2012 at 06:25 AM
sbeme
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Help Please

Welcome, Timmy.
Sounds like you are just getting warmed up with the wonderful world of digital photography
Zoos are fun places to shoot. And you seemed to have been able to get upclose and personal.
Both images need some post-processing work to finish them.
Here are two quick reworks, done in Lightroom. In looking back at them, not sure the color temp/white balance is accurate.
In both I adjusted exposure, black and white points (spreading the tones across the entire range), provided additional sharpening and a bump in mid-tone contrast, aka "Clarity". This also adds to perceived sharpness. I did some work to reduce the brightest areas where they distracted, a bit of crop, and a slight vignette to keep the eye centered on the prime subject. Not happy with what I did on the brightest hairs along the edge of the paw. Someone else will no doubt provide a better fix.
Are you learning post-processing? Do you have a specific program?

Let me know what you think and keep having fun.

Scott

Feb 05, 2012 at 02:15 PM
TimmyMitch

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Help Please