Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · Help deciding on a laser/ink printer

revhappy
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Help deciding on a laser/ink printer

So I've been using this HP printer for the past 10 years now, and it's finally starting to crap out on me. It's a multifunction printer that lets me scan and print, and I'm looking for an alternative to it.

Here's what I need to do with it:
- Print out contracts
- Scan contracts
- Print out color CD labels
- POSSIBLY be able to print out decent color 4x6 photos

My friends recommended I go with Laserjet, and I tried a few out at OfficeDepot, and I love how the text and images come out waxy looking with a nice shine to it from certain printers. At the same time, I was told that InkJet is better for printing images on glossy paper, but I'm not really looking for the highest quality prints like those done at a print shop, but it could come in handy for this small 3x3 print I use on the leather CD cases I give clients.

I was looking at this one for $400 http://www.amazon.com/Canon-imageCLASS-MF8380Cdw-Wireless-5120B001AA/dp/B005L39H9G/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top but thought it might be too much for what I'm looking to do, although it's probably my best choice so far.

Am I better off spending less on a dedicated printer (instead of multifunction), and then just getting a cheap scanner on the side to scan in contracts?

Jan 19, 2012 at 11:55 PM
Gregstx
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · Help deciding on a laser/ink printer