Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2012 · shipping from the US to Canada

boti

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · shipping from the US to Canada

Hi US sellers, I'm new to the FM site, as well as new to the buy & sell used gear process. To those of you who have shipped your sold items to a buyer in Canada, would someone please enlighten me, are there issues with customs for example, other hidden costs? Any info. at all is much appreciated. Thanks.

Jan 09, 2012 at 05:27 PM
laurapalmer
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · shipping from the US to Canada

I am a buyer in Canada, and in my experience UPS charged a large additional fee (on top of duty/ GST). Using USPS/ Canada Post there have been no issues.

Jan 09, 2012 at 06:06 PM
Mickey
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · shipping from the US to Canada

I sell to Canada. No problem. Go with USPS and understand (especially for the buyer) that the package may get held up in Canadian customs. Be prepared for a possible two or three week delivery time.

Jan 09, 2012 at 08:41 PM
pliukait
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · shipping from the US to Canada

It is a hit or miss on whether you will get charged extra by bringing things into Canada. Usually it is Sales Tax, in the case of Ontario, Mr McGinty's HST.

I have been charged the Sales Tax on some items by Canada Customs, and on some they have let it through, and I have not yet figured out the criteria for why that has happened. At first I thought it was dollar amount, but that wasn't it.

One thing I have learned, though. Do not under any circumstances use UPS Ground for shipping, their brokerage fees are absolutely outrageous.

Good luck....

Jan 09, 2012 at 08:42 PM
boti