Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2011 · flash experiments

michael kilner
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · flash experiments

Hi all,firstly please ignore the terrible background as it is only the light I would like your opinion on,I am new to this as I normally shoot macro.I have just got a 7D and thought I would have a play with the wireless speedlight control option. I used the on board flash and a speedlight with a stofen cap diffusser on a stand at a 45 degree angle to right of camera,ratio set to 1:2 respectively.In the 1st shot the speedlight is bounced off the ceiling and in the second is direct at the subject.Lens used was a sigma 100-300 zoom @100mm,ISO400,F 5.6,shutter at 1/125. In my opinion the light in the 1st shot looks too flat and the light in the 2nd a bit too harsh,perhaps halfway between the 2 would be better and may be achieved by firng the flash through an umbrella,any help with the shadows would also be appreciated.Many thanks,
M.Kilner

flic1649 by michaelkilner, on Flickr

flic1648 by michaelkilner, on Flickr

Dec 25, 2011 at 03:36 PM
antifire
• •
p.1 #2 · flash experiments

try bouncing off a different wall, or using an umbrella that is closer to the subject

Dec 25, 2011 at 10:46 PM
PhotoDes
• •
p.1 #3 · flash experiments