Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Archive 2022 · X-H2 (and therefore X-T5) Serious Autofocus Issues with Face/Eye Tracking

jerredzphoto

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · X-H2 (and therefore X-T5) Serious Autofocus Issues with Face/Eye Tracking

Hello, everyone! The purpose of this post is to NOT make people mad. Please - I LOVE my Fuji cameras. I want them to be a success, which is why I'm posting this. I want to see if other people with the X-H2 can replicate the problems I'm having, specifically to moving people using eye/face detection in continuous and tracking AF modes.

First of all, I've been shooting with Fuji for the past 9 years. I've shot hundreds of weddings, portraits and events with the system.

I know there are limitations with Fuji's autofocus, and I also know that the X-H2s is Fuji's "speed" camera with the stacked sensor, made for fast situations (I have it and it's great.)

However, with the X-H2, Fuji has made a promise that the AI autofocus will still do wonders for us, just not for the fastest of subjects.

Honestly, I'd expect the X-H2 to do as well as the Sony A7iv, and at the very least the Canon R7, which is an APSC sensor as well. (Neither of those have stacked sensors).

From what I'm seeing, the Fuji XH2, and therefore the X-T5, will not have reliable and accurate autofocus for slow-to-medium moving people when using eye autofocus. This would mean that the camera might be a poor choice for anyone shooting people who are moving, such as families, events, and weddings.

I posted a video about this, and people told me 1- I don't know what I'm doing. And 2 - my camera might be defective.

Look... I know what I'm doing. You can check my website if you don't believe me.