New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Night real estate photography

novalaker

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Night real estate photography

I was staying a buddy's new lodge on a lake here in Rwanda and we got a rare clear night, it's often so foggy at this altitude stars can be scarce. I had just received my new Leica 8-18 for my G9 courtesy of FM Buy & Sell so I wanted to try it out and give my buddy a nice photo for his website of one of the buildings at the lodge.

Truthfully I've never done night photography like this before so I was fumbling around for the proper settings, etc. and I think I got something useable for social media but I found a lot of artifacts upon closer examination, lots of white, red, blue, and green spots all around the image and I wouldn't print it. I did some cleanup in DxO and got rid of some but I still find a lot of artifacts, white ones mostly. Does anyone know what caused it/how to avoid this?

Any other feedback on the image in general would be appreciated, as well.

DC-G9    8.0-18.0 mm f/2.8-4.0 lens    8mm    f/2.8    30s    800 ISO    0.0 EV  

DC-G9    8.0-18.0 mm f/2.8-4.0 lens    8mm    f/2.8    30s    800 ISO    0.0 EV  

Apr 26, 2022 at 09:20 AM
mdees88
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Night real estate photography

I'm just getting into astrophotography so I probably won't be too much help but it sounds like the artifacts you mention could be what is referred to as "hot pixels".

I really like the compositions, especially the first pic. It would be nice if the inside of the room was not so blown out. I assume the lights were on during the entire 30 second exposure. I wonder if you had someone inside the room and they only left the lights on for 1-5 seconds of your 30 second exposure if that would reduce the brightness.