New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Professional Photographers of America- Confering Degrees

ANapster

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Professional Photographers of America- Confering Degrees

Apparently, Professional Photographers of America confers their own degrees for photographer. Obviously these aren't traditional collegiate degrees, but I'm wondering, has anyone pursued one of these degrees or found them as useful as they're advertised?

Oct 05, 2017 at 07:16 PM
Peter Figen
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Professional Photographers of America- Confering Degrees

All I'll say is that I have a real degree from one of the best photography schools in the country, if not the world (BFA Art Center College of Design 1986) and in the last thirty plus years not a single person, client or anyone has ever asked to see a diploma. Unless you're going after a teaching position where you pretty much need a Phd these days, no one cares about your diploma, only if you can produce the images they need or want. If that PPA education helps you do that, then maybe it's worth it. Maybe not. The most important thing the college did for me was introduce me to other students who I would end up working with after our time in school. Of course, those were virtually all graphic design or advertising majors - y'know - the type that actually hire photographers. A lot depends on exactly what you're trying to accomplish as a photographer.

Oct 06, 2017 at 03:05 AM
story_teller
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Professional Photographers of America- Confering Degrees