Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Long Hike Up

Gregg B.
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Long Hike Up

Congratulations to Gregg B. for winning Feature Thread of the Week with 18 votes - View Previous Winners

Today I'd like to share with y'all some of my recent shots taken in high Sierra Nevada mountain range.
The two places required either 14 or 22 miles hiking (round trip) to get to. I'm not a professional hiker (if such thing exists), so I struggled a bit getting up there; to 11K feet elevation carrying over 40 pounds of camping and photography gear. But once there, the reward was tremendous (except those blood hungry mosquitos biting even with the repellent on)...
One thing I've learned is that I need to get a much better hiking gear. My backpack alone is almost 7 pounds (my friend's backpack was only 1.5 pound. Yeah, it costs a lot more but it's incredibly lighter and yet has the same capacity). The same applied to my sleeping bag and other things. I also didn't have time to adapt to this high elevation. This was my first hike to little above 11K feet...

Edited on Jun 15, 2021 at 12:56 PM · View previous versions

Jun 14, 2021 at 03:43 PM
junglialoh
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Long Hike Up

Very professional artistic work - impressively gorgeous

Jun 14, 2021 at 03:45 PM
The Rat
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Long Hike Up

Gorgeous shots. The first and last are my favorites of the bunch.

Jun 14, 2021 at 03:49 PM
say_doyster
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Long Hike Up

Beautifully crafted photographs. Inspiring and satisfying. Thanks for posting them.

B

Jun 14, 2021 at 04:31 PM
gdanmitchell
• • • • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Long Hike Up

Gregg B. wrote: