backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: incrediblehark  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add incrediblehark to your Buddy List
Nikon 24mm AF-S Nikkor f/1.4G ED

675829
Review Date: Feb 3, 2021 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent IQ, Build Quality, Size, Handling, Sharp, Bokeh Beast!
Cons:
Price

I have owned this lens for 2 years now. I've been back-filling my lens line-up with the pro versions due to reliability, durability and IQ. This lens has decent IQ for landscapes, some scenes it handles well, some scenes not so much. The corners can be a challenge but with proper care, focus stacking, etc, this lens can shine.

The main reason I purchased this lens is for portraits. The bokeh it produces may be the best I've seen, especially in a wide angle lens. The only other lens I would say is comparable that I've used is the 35mm 1.4g, but that's a different beast altogether.

This lens has something that most modern lenses is lacking, character. The bokeh is worth the price alone.

AF with certain cameras can be hit or miss, the D700 and D610 for example. But with my D810 the AF is very accurate and consistent. I've also used it on my F5 with superb results.

Definitely still an amazing lens in 2021.


 
Nikon D810

nikond810
Review Date: Feb 3, 2021 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $2,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent AF, Excellent Dynamic Range, Excellent Live View, Great IQ, Ergonomics and handling, Electronic Front Curtain
Cons:
None

I wanted to post a quick review of this amazing camera. It has excellent IQ and dynamic range. The raw files are wonderful to work with and super sharp with the right lens combo. The electronic front curtain function was the reason I purchased this camera. It essentially works as a mirror-less camera for landscapes when set up properly resulting in zero Shutter shake. The improved AF of this camera constantly surprises me. My 24mm 1.4g and 35mm 1.4g, plus all of my other lenses for that matter, focus perfectly without fine tune. This is my main landscape and portrait camera and I've never felt the need to upgrade. Definitely still an excellent camera in 2021.

 
Nikon D700

D700
Review Date: Feb 2, 2021 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent AF. Good low light IQ. Excellent button layout. Small file Size.
Cons:
Dynamic Range, Live View

I just wanted to take the time to write a quick review of my D700. I've had my copy since 2018 and bought it as my take everywhere camera. I'm very surprised with this camera in 2021. It has an incredible build quality, excellent handling and great button/control layout. The small file size is a bonus for me as my D810 files would be too big for everyday use. I absolutely love this camera for candid portraits, street, and action, etc. It has a very film like output in my opinion. Combined with the grip I've shot several hockey games and other sporting events and had an extremely high keeper rate with my 70-200 VRII. Very good AF. This camera is definitely relevant in 2021.

My only issues with the camera is the poor live view and the reduced dynamic range compared to more recent cameras. But these are minor things, and to be expected with an older camera.

I would highly recommend this camera for anyone seeking a second body.


 
Nikon 20mm f/1.8G ED AF-S Nikkor

nikon20
Review Date: Oct 13, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, Great Global Contrast, Nice Colours, Good AF, Light, Amazing Flare Resistance, Etc...
Cons:
Plastic Build Quality, Corners Aren't Perfect

This is by far the best wide angle lens for the price point. The global contrast and colours are excellent. It's sharp in the center, but unfortunately it isn't as good as my 14-24 in the corners. It has excellent flare resistance and I'm not afraid to shoot with the sun in the frame.

What I don't like is the corner performance. I thought the corners of this lens would be better than my 14-24, unfortunately they're not. However, they are better than all the previous 20mm lenses Nikon has made, which is a good thing.

I bought this lens to use with the sun in the frame for landscapes, it's excellent in this regard.

I do recommend this lens, especially for the price point.


 
Nikon 14-24mm f/2.8G IF-ED AF-S Nikkor

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_17_39_PM
Review Date: Oct 13, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Decent Focus Throw, Amazing Zoom Range, Decent AF for UWA, Great Contrast, Awesome Build Quality, etc...
Cons:
Flare, No Filter Ring

This is the best lens I own. I'm using it with a D610 for landscapes. Every time I use this lens it surprises me. It's very sharp, handles well, and is a joy to use. It has very, very good corner performance. I struggled between it and a Zeiss 21mm, I'm so happy I chose this one, it's awesome and has exceeded my expectations. It produces an excellent global image, with less distortion than you'd think for a zoom this wide.

The only negatives I would have against it is flare, no filter ring and sometimes the AF is off for critical focusing. I knew about the flare ahead of time and have learned to compose my shots to avoid it. The filters are expensive for this lens, but with my camera I haven't really needed them because the dynamic range is so good. I always use manual focus for landscapes, so the AF missing sometimes isn't really an issue either. I should point out that up close, the AF is perfect, it only happens with AF in certain scenes.

I consider this lens close to perfect. I highly recommend it.


 
Nikon D610 DSLR Camera

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_5_01_47_PM
Review Date: Oct 12, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent Dynamic Range, Amazing Low Light Performance, Decent Live View, Good Battery Life, Great Controls, User 1 and User 2 Dial Setting, Feels Amazing with Battery Grip, Works Well with Legacy and New Lenses, Etc...
Cons:
Fixed Aperture in Live View

I upgraded from a D7000 to this camera, so the body felt pretty much the same, just slightly bigger. I've used many other Nikon DSLR's and this is by far the best. The low light performance and dynamic range are better than I expected. There's a reason this camera sensor is so well rated, it really is that good. I shoot a lot of walk-around portraits, studio and outdoor portraits, and landscapes with this camera. It has exceeded my expectations, especially in landscape settings. I haven't needed a filter kit since getting it!

The only complaint I have would be the fixed aperture in Live View. It's not an issue with manual lenses (obviously), but kind of sucks with G lenses when composing landscapes. Although closing and re-opening LV isn't really that big of a deal, so I'm splitting hairs a bit.

I love my D610. Steal of a deal at the current price point.


 
Nikon 35mm f/1.8G ED AF-S Nikkor

nikon3518
Review Date: Oct 7, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp, Accurate AF, Lightweight, Great Contrast, Excellent Close Focusing Ability, Amazing Flare Resistance
Cons:
Plastic Build Quality

I love this lens. I've used a lot of 35mm lenses over the years and this is by far the best. My copy is super sharp from 1.8 onward, it has very accurate auto focus and tracks well in low light.

I've used it for general walk-around shots, landscapes and portraits. It's awesome close up with my ring light and for environmental portraits with my beauty dish. It handles flare extremely well and has easily corrected distortion.

The only complaint I would have would be the plastic build quality. Other than that, it's a great lens!