backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: abhu  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add abhu to your Buddy List
Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_26_09_AM
Review Date: Jun 25, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,000.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good IQ, nice price, VC
Cons:
build quality, average AF, not that cheap, not that good VC

So I have it for about 3 years and I use it on every day, and it does the job.
IQ is good, no dramatic CA, not bad flare, good resolution and it has a good price/ value rating.
But the AF is only average- sometimes misses the point quite bad, the building is not great not terrible- no full wethearsealing, the VC got about 1-2 steps adventage, not a cheap lens- except if you buy it used. Than its very good business.


 
Samyang 14mm f/2.8 IF ED UMC

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_33_56_PM
Review Date: Apr 2, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $260.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, f 2.8, nice IQ, great focal lenght
Cons:
That moustache distortion, easy to scratch the front element- also its a dust magnet

So its your lens if you want a fast prime for almost everything- except interiors or if you want to get straight lines.
Sharp at 2.8, the vignetting is significant till f8- but for this price i dont think it should be a problem.
You can get used to the manual focusing- i use it on events: after some time you will learn where to roll that ring to get the focus on the subject- its very forgiving.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

ef50mmf_14usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 2, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 1.4, relatively cheap, lightweight, nice IQ, good performance for the price
Cons:
Quite bad CA, inconsitent AF, not tack sharp on 1.4

So I use it for about 3 years on two 6D mk1. I like it very much because of the focal lenght-dof-iq combination but it has some issues. The most important to me is the quite bad chromatic abberation in the out of focus areas. Literally i can scream when i have a nice pic' and a fokkin great purple fringe is destroys it. And after a some postwork its getting worse- and sometimes it cannot be removed- no not in LR. You can defringe it but a fokkin grey line still be there- i dont know how many pixel large, but you can see it well on a 1920*1280 image, too well.
The AF is get the subject in 10/7, but thats not that great performance to me.
The sharpness is about average in its class- on wide open its soft, but most of the time its not a really big problem.
Despite of its cons i like it- its a nice and cheap prime lens.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.4G AF-S Nikkor

pic_001
Review Date: Jul 5, 2017 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Solid build quality, sharp enough when opened, good af and iq
Cons:
Vignetting, price

Thats a good lens- maybe not the best in the market but good enough for its price. Its fast and has a good iq- vignetting somewhat but not that bad.
Maybe you will find some CA but nothing terrible.


 
Nikon 50mm f/1.8 AF Nikkor

1906NCP_180
Review Date: Jul 5, 2017 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, good iq when stopped down
Cons:
AF inconstancy, lack of sharpness when opened

I can still remember the sound of the AF while its hunting the subject- i listened it much. Under f/2.2 it was sharp as plastic bag covered with snot but at 2.2 and above it was quite good.

 
Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II DX AF-S

18-55DX
Review Date: Jul 5, 2017 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $50.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, lightweighted, good IQ
Cons:
not so much for its price

Liked that thing very much because it did the job. Not that very sharp but it was quite good.

 
Nikon D50

d50
Review Date: Jul 5, 2017 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, small, well designed, relatively good IQ
Cons:
Not that good AF

Back in the days it was my first DSLR- I really loved that machine: it was cheap, it was good and I learned so much from using it.

 
Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP

Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_21_54_AM
Review Date: Oct 3, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Pretty fast and accurate AF, good built quality, very nice iq, damn good stabilization, not that pricey,
Cons:
Built quality not as good as Canon 70-200/2.8 also the AF slower (not significantly), zoom ring and mf ring reversed, hard to use with reversed hood

I have choosen the Tamron 70-200/2.8 VC because at my workplace we use the same and I was impressed by its performance and durability. We use it as workhorse and its still working- but the zoom rings rubber got expanded so its not wheater sealed for now and not very sexy.
The AF is fast- about as my 24-105 L- but its not that fast as Canon's flagship altough its accurate (keeper rate 10/8,5). I dont have any reason to complain about it.
The image quality is satisfy any expectations- in real life no-one could separate from any other 70-200 (Canon or Nikon) theres no much difference.
The VC is top notch: I can go down to 1/40 at 200mm on APS-H (~260mm) any time, but the results are still acceptable at 1/20-30. Maybe not the best for videographers cause the VC starting hard and harsh but then its very smooth.
The most disturbing thing is that I must detach the hood to zoom- it could be annoying cause every f time if I put the gear to the bag I have to unscrew the hood and reverse it otherwise it wont fit the bag and when I want to use again I have to detach it again- just because the hood covers the zoom ring what its in the far edge of the glass- not like the Canon.