backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: Trevor Sowers  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Trevor Sowers to your Buddy List
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

ef17-40_4l_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2022 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very light and compact with weather sealing
Cons:
A little soft near the edges of the frame.

This lens is so light and compact that it makes a great walk around lens to capture the world around you. If you are documenting your vacation and you just need a lens that will be easy to carry and get the shot then this lens just works! The AF is fast and accurate and the colours and flare resistance are top notch. Lot's of people complain about the corners but honestly in my opinion corners are over rated and I have never felt bad corners held me back. It is a bit soft near edges which can be both a benefit or a negative depending on what you are photographing. just go look at some images on Flickr for yourself and decide it it works for you.

 
Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

ef400mmf_56_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2022 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Solid construction but very light and compact for 400mm.
Cons:
None

If you like to walk and carry your Super Tele then this is your lens! It is vey packable and if you have enough light to shoot @5.6 then you will get first rate images if you do your part. I shoot it wide open most of the time and it just looks fabulous. The built in hood is super handy and the tripod collar works perfectly. As a side note the old school construction is wonderful and adds to my enjoyment of the lens.

 
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

ef_35_14_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2022 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful images from such a dependable performer.
Cons:
Lack of weather sealing

I bought this lens when the version II was announced due to the sales. I wasn't sure what to expect since 35mm wasn't my favourite FL. After using it for a few years I have decided that this lens is soooo useful and you can really depend on it to not only get your shot but also with a beautiful result. I really like it's size and weight which is much nicer than the newer version of the lens.

 
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM

ef135mmf_2l_1_
Review Date: Feb 5, 2022 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light and Compact with great AF.
Cons:
nothing really

I have both the 200mm 2.8II and this lens and they are both outstanding and I can't really decide which one I like better, although I tend to use the 200mm more. I've used this lens for everything from wedding portraits and stage shows to indoor sports and it has never let me down.

 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: May 25, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent ergonomics and focus
Cons:
Price

I just love this lens! I can nail focus under almost any conditions and it tracks in servo very well. I get beautiful and unique looking photos with this lens and it is one of my favourite lenses. Lots has been said about focus shift but in my experience that only occurs with focus distances under 1 meter. It's always with me and it's one of my best purchases.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: May 25, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Resolves well across the frame. Weather sealing. Solid build. Fast Accurate AF. Very good flare resistance. f/1.4
Cons:
Poor hood design. Heavy. Large. Expensive.

I'll start with my negatives. The hood doesn't snap on securely and it can rotate when you are carrying the camera on a strap so that when you go to take a shot you may need to adjust the hood. This is rare but it has happened to me. Also the round shape of the hood means that you can't set the lens down on the hood when changing lenses which I always do with my other lenses. As for the heavy, large and expensive points; well they just come with the territory and are not faults of the lens but they are something to consider as "down sides".

As for the good points……….well It's a long list so I'll just simply say that this is one of my most treasured lenses and I would not want to go without it! When I'm shooting a wedding it is on one of my bodies at all times. It is sharper at f/1.4 than my sigma 50mm and (unlike the sigma 50) it actually focuses accurately in low light when I really need it. It does vignette heavy at 1.4 but otherwise looks quite good for a lens that is wide open! I find I really like how it looks at f/2 and up. If I am in a situation where I need a wide angle lens that I can count on to get the shot this is the one I reach for. I've shot musicians on stage that were jumping around in horrible light as well as dancing at wedding receptions with bad light and lot's of fast dancing so I set up my remote speedlites and with this lens on my 5D MKIII and servo AF it just nails it!!

For Photojournalism and environmental portraits it's a great lens IMHO


 
Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM

ef28mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Jul 27, 2012 Recommend? | Price paid: $700.00

 
Pros: Inexpensive for a lens of this focal length and aperture.
Cons:

The last time I rated this lens I had only used it on a 40D and I gave it a 8. Now that I have been using it on a 5D MKII for a year I would give it a 9. It really is a useful lens of FF and there just isn't much to compete with it at it's price range. The 24L is better but it is much more expensive. I don't have any trouble making good shots with this lens. I did a micro focus adjustment of -5 and this made a world of difference and I find even 1.8 looks good. f2.2 and up is fantastic. Light fast and good focus system makes this a great lens. Stop down to reduce CA

 
Canon Speedlite 580EX II

580exii
Review Date: Dec 27, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Powerful Workhorse!
Cons:
Master/Slave switch isn't as convenient as 580EX

I have four of these units and they have never let me down. I have even had them on lightstands that got knocked over and they kept on working despite one of them landing so hard that the foot was pulled part way off of the flash!!

I use them in Manual and ETTL II and have no complaints.


 
Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

ef85mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open. Good build. Light. Fast and accurate AF.
Cons:
Would prefer a bayonet hood although the clip on one has not been a problem it's just finickier to attach.

I don't hesitate to shoot wide open. I love this lens for portraits indoors and out. I also use it for sports where it's wide aperture and fast AF rock!

If you think you want a short telephoto prime don't waste your time thinking about it, just buy it.


 
Canon EF 200mm f/2.8L II USM

1ef200mmf_28_1_1_
Review Date: Apr 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built. Fast accurate AF. Very sharp at all apertures. Well balanced and light.
Cons:
not weather sealed.

Wow!

I shoot wide open 80% of the time. If I stop down it is to get greater depth of field not better IQ.

I would buy this lens again in a heartbeat.



 
Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM

ef28mmf_18usm_1_
Review Date: Apr 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $680.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Accurate AF Good build, Sharp for a fast 28
Cons:
In low contrast light it has occasionally missed focus but it is rare.

I bought this lens after MUCH hesitation due to mixed review.

I love the lens so far. It is a little soft at 1.8 but very usable in low light and I have even gotten some excellent 1.8 shots in moderate light with careful focus. At f2 it is just fine for environmental portraits. Overall I think this is a good lens and there is simply no better alternative that is this fast and this price.

The L lenses are better but they are double the price or more!!

The sigma is about the same performance and about the same price.

The other canon primes are slower.

This lens will make photographers happy.