backup
Photoshop actions
 
 


  Reviews by: Carles77  

View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Carles77 to your Buddy List
Zeiss 15mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_11_59_39_AM_copy
Review Date: Oct 1, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: character, colors, 3d effect, construction, my best lens with the 100mm
Cons:
not water sealed, expensive, corners a bit soft

I have the mighty canon 16-35 III and the classic 15mm zeiss. The canon is just perfect in technical test. Sharper in the corners and in the mid-frame in any aperture. The zeiss has colors and 3D rendering than canon does not. The canon is more versatile, but with the autofocus and zoom makes me get bored soon. The Zeiss make me think more and it's a joy to use. The canon is larger and with a mirrorless camera seems a tele more than a wide lens. The zeiss also is big but not so much. The canon produces more soft colors, flatter imatges than the zeiss that has strong character. So...

Canon > Zeiss for sharpness and technical pixel peer-robotical users.
Zeiss > Canon for colors, fun to use, special shoots, 3D effect, microcontrast, and weight/dimensions.


 
Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM

ef50lusm
Review Date: Nov 18, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Colours, contrast, "magic" in many photos
Cons:
Price and Many optical problems but...

This is a lens that you love and hate at the same time. This lens is the only one capable to extract magic from a photo that no other lens can, and in another make a very boring one... I think that this character makes the relation a little difficult but interesting.. Lens have many optical flaws but in some moments this gives the especial imatges that can produce. The price is too much for such a lens, but when some photo comes with magic it's really priceless for me. So this is a keeper!

 
Sony FE 16-35mm f/4 ZA OSS Zeiss Vario-Tessar T* SEL1635Z

fe1635
Review Date: Jun 15, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,036.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: sharp, corners, nice fit on A7, weight it's OK
Cons:
colours on a7r... Too green, the f/4 of course!

After a year of use it I sold it. Just because colors tend to be very greenish on a A7r and also transitions from lights to shadows are not very natural. I think my old canon 16-35ii produces better colors and more natural imatges althought the sony is sharper in the corners of course. I haven't found yet any sony lens nor zoom neither primes than can compete with L lenses or zeiss lenses in giving a natural feeling imatges. Anyway it's the best angular zoom for the sony right now...

 
Zeiss Loxia 50mm f/2 Planar T*

loxia50
Review Date: Jun 9, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: weight, size, construction like all zeiss, and very addictive to use.
Cons:
not so sharp at f/2, bokeh not really impressive (planar design I think)

This lens is better than the FE55mm in terms of realistic rendering but for me not a keeper. Don't know why, but I found all native lenses for sony e-mount plain and flat with no many character. This is good one but not better than a canon 50mm f/1.4 with eos-nex adapter. I sold it, but i'm very perfectionist so if you are not, this is a good lens. If you want a lens that cost what you paid maybe this is not a good choice.

 
Sony FE 55mm f/1.8 ZA Carl Zeiss Sonnar T*

Screen_Shot_2013-11-13_at_12_59_33_PM_copy
Review Date: Apr 28, 2015 Recommend? no | Price paid: $600.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: weight, autofocus, well build
Cons:
flat in many aspects, CA at f/1.8-2, colours soft, it could be an standard zoom lens but without zoom!

I wanted to buy the loxia but someone gives me a good offer for this lens. I've tried this lens for a few shots but I think it's a flat lens. It's sharp but not really amazing, colors are little soft and also has no specially good bokeh for this kind and expensive lens. So If you don't have good colours, no 3d effect (I have many zeiss lenses for canon including 21,25 and the 100) and no specially nice bokeh, it's like a zoom lens with more aperture, nothing special there. Who said "the little otus" has to buy a new monitor... For family shooters coming from sony nex or something like small sensors this lens will make it, but if you like lens with character like leica o zeiss I think this is not for you. I will sell it and try to find if loxia it's better or same "no soul" lens.

 
Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM "A"

sigma35
Review Date: Jan 2, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp! sharp! sharp!, well construct, good at focusing. Nice 3D effect similar than some Zeiss. No so many chromatic aberrations.
Cons:
colors and brokeh not good as canon.

For the price this lens are amazing. Good construction, amazing sharpness, etc.. I also had the canon 35L and this are an upgrade from that. Anyway the 35L has something that the sigma don't have, colors and bokeh. The sigma has tendency for yellow/brown colors but for the price is really must have lens.

 
Zeiss 25mm f/2 Distagon T*

zeiss25f2
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: center sharpness, colors, contrast, wide portraits, bokeh
Cons:
not for landscapes

nice lens for close ups like wide portraits or similar. For landscapes is not the best lens... anyway is a very unique and special lens.

 
Zeiss 100mm f/2 Makro-Planar T*

100mm
Review Date: Oct 7, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sharp all apertures, contrasty, colors, no distortion
Cons:
not the greatest bokeh for portraits but useful anyway

very nice lens for flowers and for details. Also you can do go landscapes with it. Problem is that 100mm is not the most useful fov but photos you will get from it worth buying this lens.

 
Zeiss 21mm f/2.8 Distagon T*

21mm
Review Date: Mar 9, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very sharp, nice colours, good corners
Cons:
weight, it's ugly :P, vignetting at f/2.8, sunstars, hexagonal flare

I had the 16-35mm II and the 17-40mm. The 16-35II was the most used lens for me, I really love the 16-35II but I know it's not a perfect lens of course. Now with the Zeiss it's just amazing, really impresed for the moment, anyway I have to use it more to see what it can do. For the moment very very happy with it. No regrets, just that I will have to sell my 16-35II... Sad

update: sunstars and hexagonal flare not very nice also weight makes me sell this lens. Nice lens but not for me.


 
Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM

sigma50-14jpg
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bokeh bokeh and bokeh!!! useful at f/1.4
Cons:
many autofocus issues

one of the best bokeh and trust me I have 50L, Zeiss 50MP, Zeiss 50mm C/Y F/1.4 and F/1.7, canon 50mm f/1.4, f/1.8, etc... This lens like the Zeiss C/Y f/1.4 have the best bokeh.

But... I bought this one with terrible autofocus problem, no solution with microadjustments because has erratic autofocus. So the only way to use it is in manual mode...

If you don't have money to spend and don't matter to maybe have to focus manually go with this lens!!


 
Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS

24-70
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $950.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: small, light, practical, good IS, useful all the range
Cons:
price price price, makes all but nothing good (like most of the zooms)

I don't like zoom lens but this is really useful if you don't want to change lens and keep it light when you travel. Lens are really similar in IQ than the 24-105mm and the price difference dont' make it worth to go with this lens if you don't mind about the weight and size. For me weight and size are important so this lens are better option than the 24-105mm.

Macro mode is really ugly....


 
Zeiss 28mm f/2 Distagon T*

28mm
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $900.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: perfect fov, 3D rendering, kind of artistic at f/2
Cons:
colors maybe not the best in some moments, corners at f/2 but no worries

Very nice lens for artistic shots and B&W if you use it wide open. Expect also some ugly results too... this lens is kind of a lottery sometimes. The 28mm focal length is very useful for many things, so can be used like a unique lens for traveling. Anyway it does landscapes well and portraits well but none of them really amazing. It does the work well and it's fun to use.

 
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

16-35II
Review Date: Feb 18, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Versatility, sunburst closed, high IQ on center, colors
Cons:
very bad at 30-35mm, soft corners, distortion, too big

This lens is must have for me no matter the negative aspects most of my photos are done with this lens so really nice one.

 
Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II USM

EF24_14LII
Review Date: Sep 19, 2012 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,400.00

 
Pros: sharp at more than f/2, not so heavy, well build
Cons:
soft corners at f/1.4, very ugly bokeh, expensive, vignetting

Very ugly bokeh for me, I buy this lens because i want a wide angle lens with the benefits of low light and bokeh too. But it's unusable at f/1.4 - f/2. Corners are too soft, vignetting extremly.

I sold this lens, I will go for another prime lens like the 50L.

Thanks.