backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
44 93451 Sep 16, 2019
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $178.57
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.63
9.46
9.0
pancake-1

Specifications:
A unique and indispensable addition to Canon’s series of EF lenses, the new EF 40mm f/2.8 STM offers an ultra-slim and lightweight design. Incredibly compact in size, the 40mm f/2.8 lens delivers high image quality from the center to the periphery, thanks to its advanced lens configuration including an aspherical element, a bright 2.8 aperture, and optimized coatings that minimize ghosting and flare, while providing exceptional color balance.

• STM - Continuous Autofocus for Shooting Video
• Bright f/2.8 Aperture
• Lightweight 4.6 oz Lens
• Unobtrusive--Less Than 1" Long
• Aspherical Element--High Image Quality
• Optimized Coatings Reduce Ghost & Flare
• Exceptional Color Balance
• 7-Blade Diaphragm for Beautiful Bokeh
• Close Focusing to 11.81"
• 64mm Equivalent If Used on APS-C Camera


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next
          
CPantaleon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Sep 16, 2019
Location: United Arab Emirates
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sep 16, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, tiny, 40mm focal length. Great colours and sharpness - pretty close to L quality for $199.
Cons:
f/2.8 aperture. STM focusing mechanism is so smooth, that I have to defocus and refocus to make sure.

Fantastic lens. I’ve used both 35mm and 50mm my whole life, and I’ve often found 35mm to be a bit too wide, and 50mm to be a bit too tight. 40mm is ideal for my eyes. This, a 20mm, a 28mm, and a 135mm, would be all I need.

This lens is surprisingly and incredibly sharp - sharper than my 50mm, actually. The quality approaches some of the L lenses I’ve used. Colour and contrast is fantastic, they’re close to the 35mm f/2 IS. And, the STM AF mechanism, while it is a bit slow, it’s VERY smooth. Sometimes, I defocus the lens before tapping the AF-ON again, because it’s so smooth, I can’t tell if it actually focused.

AF isn’t too consistent, BUT, may be because of my camera body, a 5D Mark II.


Sep 16, 2019
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add CPantaleon to your Buddy List  
Phil UKNet
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 20, 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 13, 2018 Recommend? | Price paid: $220.00

 
Pros: Small, light, super sharp, great colours and contrast, low price, good macro results when used with an extension tube, good match with EOS M, ideal with the SL2
Cons:
None

I did post a review previously, but this is an updated version as I moved to an EOS M system a few years ago. This lens has really grown on me and the more I use it the more I like it.

Since moving to EOS M I now use mostly EF-M lenses, but because this one is so small and light (even with the mount adapter) I still find myself using it quite a lot. It feels well balanced on a mirrorless camera and delivers excellent image quality.

I've also used it for some macro work with extension tubes. The minimum focusing distance is already quite short, but a 25mm extension tube roughly halves the distance. Used for macro work it is very sharp and provides good magnification.

Fred's review system tells me that I previously rated this lens at 8. It doesn't give me the option to change that number, but now I would say 9 or maybe even 10. When I go travelling, my other lenses change depending on the situation but there is normally always room for this one.

Besides MILC, I think this lens and the SL2 would make a great combination. In summary, a super little lens at something of a bargain price.

http://phil.uk.net/photography/canon-ef-40mm-f2p8-stm-pancake.html



Apr 13, 2018
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Phil UKNet to your Buddy List  
peterstrong
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: Dec 21, 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Dec 21, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated

 
Pros: Small and lightweight.
Cons:

It is solid, lightweight, fits in any space, even in a pocket and dramatically reduces the size of the camera. For street photography is perfect: it's like wearing a classic 35mm camera but still your reflex. A nice format because below 40mm (even on APS-C) compositions are somewhat unrealistic for my taste and 40mm looks like human eye sees reality. Good for small landscapes and macros and is great for portraits. Good colors and as sharp as the 50mm F / 1.4 (which I still adore too). Focus quickly enough, although not a rocket and no problem up to date with manual focus.
A perfect combination for 650D/700D with 18- 135mm.


Dec 21, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add peterstrong to your Buddy List  
agnesleung
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 12, 2010
Location: China
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 21, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Weight, price, built, look, sharpness (even wide open)
Cons:
Aperture (will be perfect if it is f2.0), not as "magical" as my 35L

This is a great lens for hiking or walking around, the weight is simply unbeatable! Before I bought this lens, my go to prime was always the Canon 35L (even for hiking), but now I use this 40mm very often for hiking or occasions whenever weight is my number one concern.

The greatest thing about this lens is its sharpness even wide open. The perspective of this 40mm lens on full frame is totally fine in my taste, even though I am very use to shooting with a 35mm or 50mm prime already. However, one must be aware that the photos from this lens is great, but not as "magical" as my 35L, for my 35L with an aperture 1.4 yields far more separation of my shooting subject from the background or foreground thus creating a more 3D effect for the photo. You will understand what I meant with the comparison albums of these two lenses from the link below:

My shots taken with Canon 40 mm f2.8 stm:

http://agnesleung.com/tag/canon-40mm-f2-8-stm/

My shots taken with Canon 35mm f1.4L:

http://agnesleung.com/hiking-on-kowloon-peak/



Jun 21, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add agnesleung to your Buddy List  
bransonq360
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 6, 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 7, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $120.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: thin, quiet, SHARP, quick focus, good color and contrast, non-standard focal length,
Cons:
anti-flare ring (lens hood) combined with a UV filter almost doubles this things size, so you must use it naked. F 2.8

I can't say enough good things about this lens, even though it doesn't spend all that much time on my camera. That is my problem because every time i come home with photos from this lens i love them. It really is pancake and if you get get over how funny the body looks with it on there it become great for walking the streets especially in unfamiliar environments. While travelling i never like to leave my camera at the hotel my first stroll, but i also never know my hood. I travel in some funky places so this lens is a dream. AND what is most important, the images are so sharp.

I like that it is not "standard"-- keeps your brain thinking.

The f 2.8 is a drawback. any prime that is above 20mm and below 135mm should definitely be faster.

Mine came with a funny "lens hood" which i do keep on for protection and leave a UV filter off. Mine also came in a small soft drawstring case and it goes in my coat pocket frequently to counter the focal length that i have on the camera. (i forgot to mention in my original post that i purchased mine in China-- so that may be why mine was cheaper... i know the word China scares some people, but in this case no worries)

If you are curious, get it... images are worth it and you can't get smaller, and there is definitely something to be said for small.

http://bransonq360.com/p831033090/h17FB61F3#h17fb61f3


Feb 7, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add bransonq360 to your Buddy List  
Robin Smith
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 19, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1286
Review Date: Mar 25, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small, excellent image quality
Cons:
manual focusing by wire is not the best (STM lens)

If you want small then this is it. With this on your DSLR you have a camera that can quite easily fit in a brief case with the lens attached - not so easy to do with a standard 50 or 35mm lens. Image quality is excellent and I use this instead of the 35IS or 50/1.4 or 24-70II and notice no significant difference. I am fan of the 40mm angle of view anyway so love the view.

As it is only f2.8 you won't get the same look as you get when shooting at wider apertures with a 50 or 35mm lens (obviously!), but that is not the point of this lens - this takes up no room and your camera is now as small as it can get, and, importantly, you give up nothing image-quality wise.

I don't bother with the hood as it is not needed as the flare is very low. Also putting a hood on only makes it bigger.

The only negative is that this is not a great lens to use when focusing manually as it is an STM lens so it focuses "by wire" with a lag that makes precise focusing in Live View slightly awkward, You can do it OK, but it's not what it is best at: so it is just as well that its AF is excellent.

Many people may have little use for this lens - but I know when I need to get it out in preference to any of my other lenses - when being compact is particularly important. It is a bargain too which is the cream on top.


Mar 25, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Robin Smith to your Buddy List  
jordkemp
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mar 24, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Small and lightweight.
Cons:
Didn't produce photos that popped for me. Could be my fault though.

Great! Just not as good as my 35L or 50L, so it was never used.

Mar 24, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add jordkemp to your Buddy List  
golden1245
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 25, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 333
Review Date: Mar 4, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, sharp wide open at 2.8, quiet, fairly accurate colors
Cons:
colors are a bit bland, no particularly special elements to correct for aberrations.

This is a fantastic little lens! It's not the fastest lens out there in this range (50mm f1.8, 1.4, 35mm f2) but it more than makes for it in size. Camera shake is kept to a minimal because this lens is so small, flat and light. I can easily get 1/10 of a second still shots with this lens at F2.8 and still get incredible results!

The only thing I don't really like is the colors being comparable to the 50mm f1.8ii. They are a bit bland and too neutral for my taste, it usually needs a bit of sprucing up in post.

For a more detailed review and lots of example photos, check out my review of it on my website Smile

http://crashcoursephotography.com/canon-40mm-f2-8-pancake-primes/


Mar 4, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add golden1245 to your Buddy List  
Elías Seguí
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 12, 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 120
Review Date: Jan 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Casi todo perfecto.
Cons:
Es lento enfocando con una 70D

Todo es muy bueno menos el enfoque con mi 70D, es lento y en video mas todavia, falta probarlo en las 1Ds y 5D .....

Jan 17, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Elías Seguí to your Buddy List  
Billhansen2003
Offline
Buy and Sell: On

Registered: Mar 12, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 177
Review Date: Jan 17, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very sharp 1 stop down, Compact, light, amazing lens for the price
Cons:
not the fastest focusing lens in low light, but adequate

This is an amazing lens, regardless of the price, but considering the price it's almost unbelievable. It's surprisingly sharp in the center, not bad in corners, light in weight. It's compact and unobtrusive - just beautiful.

Jan 17, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Billhansen2003 to your Buddy List  
oldshutterhand
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 24, 2012
Location: Hungary
Posts: 0
Review Date: Aug 20, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, f2.8 aperture, good focal length, nice manual focus, not very expensive, if it were an f1.4 or 1.8 or 1.0 ?? would be a real winner
Cons:
perhaps vignetting on FF



This lens is very nice, sharp at all apertures, small, light, not long

See more detail at:

http://oldshutterhand.com/equipment-reviews/canon-40mm/


Aug 20, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add oldshutterhand to your Buddy List  
ryan00013
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Mar 12, 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 132
Review Date: Aug 2, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: small, cheap, sharp
Cons:
None - it performed exactly as I expected.

This little lens is a nice one. It is sharp at all apertures and super cheap. It's also ridiculously small and compact. One of the best budget Canon lenses around.

Aug 2, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ryan00013 to your Buddy List  
nelvayut
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 26, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 104
Review Date: Jun 13, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Light, good image quality and color, sharp
Cons:
None

I use this on my 5d3 every week to take pictures of my kids. I love it because its very light as if I don't have any lens on my camera. The background is not as good as 50/f1.2 but for the price this is pretty good.

Jun 13, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add nelvayut to your Buddy List  
antoleon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 18, 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 3
Review Date: Jun 3, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Light, solid, sharp, useful, good focal length for almost everything. Its price is a gift.
Cons:
A bit tight when you mount it. Lens moves in and out and you must take care if the lens left out when camera goes off.

It is solid, lightweight, fits in any space, even in a pocket and dramatically reduces the size of the camera. For street photography is perfect: it's like wearing a classic 35mm camera but still your reflex. A nice format because below 40mm (even on APS-C) compositions are somewhat unrealistic for my taste and 40mm looks like human eye sees reality. Good for small landscapes and macros and is great for portraits. Good colors and as sharp as the 50mm F / 1.4 (which I still adore too). Focus quickly enough, although not a rocket and no problem up to date with manual focus.
A perfect combination for 650D/700D with 18- 135mm.

It has an irresistible price and now more thanks to the Canon cashback promotion (Spring 2013): 129 € is a gift.

Just two little drawbacks.
When screwed into the camera it goes very tight in relation to other objectives.

The lens moves in and out of the body and when you turn the camera off with the lens "out", it seems to be somewhat exposed, so it is always convenient to focus to infinity before turning off the camera in order to retract the lens since it does not by itself. It is not sealed nor weather proof so you have to take care like a normal lens.


Jun 3, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add antoleon to your Buddy List  
caMARYnon
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jan 29, 2013
Location: Romania
Posts: 36
Review Date: Apr 16, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: light, excellent IQ, useful all around focal (just in case) with a tele on the body
Cons:
nothing for the price



Apr 16, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add caMARYnon to your Buddy List  
barmaley
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Oct 23, 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 27, 2013 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great image quality, very sharp, good colors, exceptionally compact and very good price.
Cons:
may be slightly slow focus.

This small lens surprised me with its excellent image quality. Optically its just great, new Canon 28 2.8 IS USM and 35 2.0 IS USM are not anywhere better but costs 3-4 times more. And this lens is very small. My experience with this baby lens and sample images here:
http://alexsukonkin.com/reviews/Canon-EF40-f28-STM_en.shtml


Mar 27, 2013
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add barmaley to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 40mm f/2.8 STM Pancake

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
44 93451 Sep 16, 2019
Recommended By Average Price
93% of reviewers $178.57
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.63
9.46
9.0
pancake-1


Page:  1 · 2 · 3  next