backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 29013 May 17, 2022
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers None indicated
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
9.40
9.7
400iiii

Specifications:
Focal Length: 400mm
APS Equivalent: 640mm
Max Aperture: f/4
Min Aperture: f/32
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 18 elements in 12 groups, including 1 aspheric and 1 UD element; Newly-developed gapless dual-layer diffractive optical (DO) elements; Fluorine coating on front and rear lens
Diagonal Angle of View
(Based on image circle): 6.2 degrees
Focus Details: Inner focusing; full-time manual focus and ring USM
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: n/a
Closest Focus: 3.3m / 10.8 ft.
Magnification Ratio: 0.13x / 1:7.7
Filter Size: 52mm Drop-in
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 233mm x 128mm / 9.2 in. x 5 in.
Weight: 2.10kg / 4.6 lb
Notes: Image Stabilization (4 stops); Weather-sealed construction


 


       †††
phillipsaevere
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 6, 2022
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: May 17, 2022 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Small, Sharp wide open (my sharpest lens), Great background rendering.
Cons:
MF experience takes getting used to, but this is not a negative

This was the very first lens I bought for my Sony system and despite continuous churning in my kit thanks to a growing FE system, this is one lens I havenít sold.
Its great for everything but it shines with portraiture. Backgrounds are smooth and low contrast, which is great for fence cleaning tampa . Unlike many 50s, this is sharp wide open, and thatís what youíre paying for. Its small and light and built very well. Considering all this, i find the price to be fair. There is a FE50 1.8 for less price, with a typical 50mm design, that every manufacturer has. This one is special. Also you donít pay the price in size and weight for better optics which is remarkable.


May 17, 2022
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add phillipsaevere to your Buddy List  
BlueRidge
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Dec 17, 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 283
Review Date: May 20, 2020 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Extremely sharp and excellent image quality. Fast focus. Works well with 1.4TC. Reasonably compact for travel.
Cons:
Very large lens hood.

Purchased as an upgrade to the 100-400mm, and it does not disappoint. The 600mm iii is too much glass for me and too large for travel. The 200-400mm with built in TC is heavy. The 400 DO ii is great for wildlife and suitable for some landscapes. It may not be suitable for small bird photography. I have used with the 5Diii and 5Div camera bodies, and with the 1.4 teleconverter. This lens is not small so people will notice it. Sometimes I wish I had the 2.8 for speed, but this is the 90% solution for me. The exceptional image quality is the main reason for having this lens.

May 20, 2020
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add BlueRidge to your Buddy List  
drobertfranz
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 11, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1130
Review Date: Jan 21, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Optical quality, build, handling, AF, IS
Cons:
New price is still high

Last fall I decided to replace my EF500mm F4L IS and 300nn F2.8L IS. Both lenses were getting old and have been taken out of service life by Canon. I really wanted something lighter and easier to handhold and travel with. With all the hype about Nikon's 500mm and 300mm DO versions I looked into the 400mm F4 DO2. Found a great deal on a used lens and jumped on it. So the 400mm replaced my 300mm and 500m. I also have the 800mm F5.6L. Been using the lens for 3 months now and I'm very impressed by it. I've used it with my 1dx, 7d2 and 5dsr. The lens is very sharp, AF and IS is excellent, better than the 500mm F4 and the 300mm F2.8. Takes the 1.4x and 2x MKIII's very well. It's a joy to handhold. Here are my observations.

Image quality (sharpness)

400DO =300mm F2.8L IS
400DO >500mm F4L IS
400DO+1.4x = 500mm F4LIS
800mm F5.6L >400mmF4DO +2x (close)

AF

400mm bare excellent with 1dx, 7d2 and 5dsr
400mm + 1.4x with 1dx excellent, 7d2 5Dsr very good
400mm + 2x with 1dx very good, 7D2 & 5Dsr fair. Handled larger birds in flight quite well.

OOF backgrounds or Bokeh looks very nice and smooth no funny highlights.

Overall I'm very happy with my choice and don't feel I lost anything by my decision


Jan 21, 2019
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add drobertfranz to your Buddy List  
Liquidstone
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 13, 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 2797
Review Date: Jan 5, 2016 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Light, compact, insanely sharp and fast focusing when bare and with a 1.4x TC III, still sharp with a 2x TC III.
Cons:
None, other than the price.

Coming from a Sigmonster, 400 2.8 IS and 500 f4 IS, the 400 DO II is joy to use in birding. Finally, I can have mobility without sacrificing reach too much.

The 400 DO II on a 7D MII focuses very fast with or without a 1.4x TC III. IQ is second to none at 400 and 560 mm.

With a 2x TC III, AF slows down noticeably on the 7D MII, but IQ is still very decent.

Here are some images of wild birds captured in my first few weeks of using the lens:
http://www.pbase.com/liquidstone/400_do_ii

Seems to me that Canon has perfected the DO design, can't wait for the release of the 600 f4 DO.

Romy


Jan 5, 2016
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Liquidstone to your Buddy List  
dougorama
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jul 7, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 77
Review Date: Feb 5, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Sharp, lightweight
Cons:
At f4 400mm 2.8 (V I) bokeh softer than this lens at f4

Sharp. No obvious flare or contrast problem compare to other 400's (5.6, 100-400 II, 400 2.8 VI) Feels as light as 100-400, but that lens is really nice makes for difficult choice overall

Feb 5, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dougorama to your Buddy List  
genefixer
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Jan 22, 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 6640
Review Date: Jan 22, 2015 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Superb IQ, light, quick accurate AF. images excellent right out of the camera!
Cons:
None

Relatively lightweight, contrast markedly better that vI, a lens I hadq for 5 years and loved . Always had to goose the contrast with my old 400 DO IS but nit this new one. Autofocus, especially with the vIII TC is excellent, crisp quick and accurate. You will pay a lot for this lens but if you are a serious wildlife photographer and like to go as light as possible, you will not regret the expense. Bravo to Canon for improving this wonderful lens!

Jan 22, 2015
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add genefixer to your Buddy List  
PetKal
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 6, 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 30421
Review Date: Dec 14, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: All good.
Cons:
None.

Kudos to Canon for getting this DO lens right, and pricing it right relative to other MkII supertelephoto lenses.
On top of all that, the lens was released as per the target date.


Dec 14, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add PetKal to your Buddy List  

†††



Canon EF 400mm f/4 DO IS II USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 29013 May 17, 2022
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers None indicated
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
10.00
9.40
9.7
400iiii