backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Samyang 8mm f/3.5 HD Fisheye

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 13665 May 21, 2019
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $216.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.50
10.00
9.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_50_38_PM

Specifications:
Name: Samyang 8mm f/3.5 HD Fisheye
Ultra Wide-Angle 8mm Fisheye Lens
167° Angle of View
High Definition, Aspherical Optics
For Use with APS-C and Full-Frame DSLR's
Multi-Layer Coating to Reduce Flare
Minimum Focusing Distance of 12"
Removable Petal-Type Lens Hood
Angle of View: 167°
Minimum Focus Distance: 12" (30.48 cm)
Groups/Elements: 7/10
Filter Thread: None
Dimensions (DxL): Approx. 2.95 x 3.04" (75 x 77.3 mm)
Weight: 15.1 oz (428 g)



 


          
ivyinvestorMA
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 12, 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 63
Review Date: May 21, 2019 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $199.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Silly sharp; low CA; build quality; color; value
Cons:
Contrast; all plastic (metal mount)

(I shoot with this lens on an 80D and a 6D, as it works beautifully full frame, on the former, and circular cropped, on the latter.)

For the cost, unless you get a damaged or decentered copy, it will be difficult to locate a better 180-degree fish. My copy is razor sharp, passes great color with little CA in high contrast areas, and is built like a (plastic) tank.

Contrast could be better, but that’s pie in post. The body could be metal, but that would necessitate greater cost.

Manual focus and aperture selection are like a manual transmission to me: an excellent choice (so they don’t factor in my review). Plus, ultra wide angle.

For this price, even if you use it a few times per year, you’ll enjoy the composition options it yields.


May 21, 2019
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add ivyinvestorMA to your Buddy List  
redjelly39
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sep 13, 2014 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $233.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Most fun lens in my bag. I shoot full frame Canon 5D Mk II and have to be careful to keep my feet out of the frame.
Cons:
Manual focus/Aperture ring on lens.

I have Canon 5D Mk II and all L lenses. I bought the Sigma 8mm fisheye a few years back for $900 and it was a fine lens but a tad soft for that price. I eventually sold it and recently bought the Rokinon 8mm fisheye for $233. I wasn't expecting much at that price but it is sharp and produces great photos. The Sigma produces round images vs the Rokinon which have the top/bottom cut off. The Rokinon is also manual focus and you must set the aperture with the ring adjustment on the lens (not in camera). I have not found this to be nearly as bothersome as it reads as I have quickly adjusted to it. You want to keep the aperture at f/8 & above for best results - anything below gets a bit softer. Side by side the Sigma is better than the Rokinon but its not nearly the $650 price difference better and I am happy & content with this fun little lens. For those not familiar with fisheye photography, this lens will make you see the world very differently and from a fun & creative perspective. Buy this lens and I guarantee you will shoot with a big smile on your face and then smile again when you download/view them on your computer.

Sep 13, 2014
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add redjelly39 to your Buddy List  

   



Samyang 8mm f/3.5 HD Fisheye

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 13665 May 21, 2019
Recommended By Average Price
100% of reviewers $216.00
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.50
10.00
9.0
Screen_Shot_2013-11-14_at_4_50_38_PM

supersize