backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 130800 Nov 27, 2021
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $1,114.41
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.65
8.89
8.6
Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_26_09_AM

Specifications:
Name: Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD (Model A007)
Image Circle: 35mm
Type: Standard Zoom
Focal Length: 24 - 70mm
35mm Equivalent: 1.5x: 36 - 105mm; 1.6x: 38.4 - 112mm
Max Aperture: f/2.8
Min Aperture: f/22
Diaphragm Blades: 9 (rounded)
Lens Construction: 17 elements in 12 groups, including 3 LD, 3 glass-molded aspherical, 1 hybrid aspherical and 2 XR (Extra Refractive Index) elements
Diagonal Angle of View: 84 to 34.3 degrees
Focus Details: Internal with USD (Ultrasonic Silent Drive), continuous manual mechanism
Front Element Rotation: No
Zoom System: Rotary
Closest Focus: 0.38m / 15 in.
Magnification Ratio: 0.2x / 1:5
Filter Size: 82mm
Dimensions
(Length x Diameter): 116.9mm x 88.2mm / 4.6 in. x 3.5 in.
Weight: 825g / 29.1 oz
Notes: VC image stabilization. Available mounts: Canon, Nikon, Sony. Includes petal type lens hood.
Online Price: US$1,300



 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 
          
Thomas Richter
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 17, 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 1
Review Date: Jun 17, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp (enough), precise AF, solidly built, efficient VC plus f2.8
Cons:
82mm filter (whereas that's a feature...), some vignetting wide open, zoom ring quite tight

Having upgraded now to FF (5D3), this lense replaced my very good EF 15-85 as standard zoom. The more than 1k Euro I saved from the not yet available EF 24-70 2.8L II I rather invested in a EF 85 1.2L II. Therefore this lens is expected to deliver good but not stellar performance in many disciplines, and it does that very well. You can do portraits with nice bokeh, take indoor and available light shoots at f2.8, and the VC is helpful for taking videos too, though I haven't tested that yet. So its very versatile, and if I need outstanding IQ I just take one of my primes. There are several lenses or even zooms that perform as good or slightly better in this or that situation, but considering the overall features, performance and price this lens is unique on the market at the moment.

Jun 17, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Thomas Richter to your Buddy List  
gwaww
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 20, 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 732
Review Date: Jun 7, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: VC, sharpness, color, contrast, build, price.
Cons:
82mm filter, distortion at 24mm

The first reviewer gives this lens a 7 and he doesn't even own it. "Canon MK II is 1/3 sharper?" What does that mean? Every review I've read gives this lens a higher rating than the org. Canon 24-70. I agree. I've had the Canon L, the Sigma HSM, the 24-105L, the Tamron 28-75 and this is the best. I use it on a 5D MK II and it makes a perfect walk-around for me. The VC is amazing on this lens!

Jun 7, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add gwaww to your Buddy List  
dwarf
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 1, 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jun 1, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cheap compared to competitors, Image stabilisation, good bokeh, accurate contrasty colours, well built, sharp
Cons:
Not sharp as mainstream competitors, less weather resistant.

I had a chance to test this lens on my 5d m2. I compared it with the canon 24-70 ver 2.
Autofocus: Canon is twice as fast(probably because there was more light in the Canon's stand) but it's not precise. The Tamron nails the focus every time.
Build quality: They both feel well built, although i suspect he Canon should be better built. I like the feeling of the Tamron better.
Bokeh: Amazing! I don't know why some people complain about it. This one had no problems at all. The Canon bokeh was more like Gaussian blur...
VC: The Tamron is the only 24-70mm with VC.
Zoom and focus rings: Soft and accurate. Both lenses have full time AF overdrive.
Optics: Very sharp. The Canon is 1/3 sharper and has better resolving power. I wouldn't use these as portrait lenses. They are TOO sharp(with Canon having the lead). Not recommended for people with skin other than perfect.
Price: 1200$ VS 2400$+ Absolute bargain!
I have this lens on pre-order. Arriving in 1 week. I will make a better review then.


Jun 1, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add dwarf to your Buddy List  
myy001
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 18, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 468
Review Date: May 31, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp, f2.8 usable, great VC
Cons:
AF not accurate

A near perfect lens if it could focus accurate. Not recommended for cameras without microadjustment. Some vegnitting @70mm but can be corrected and not severe in normal shootings.

May 31, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add myy001 to your Buddy List  
michael valeri
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 28, 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 28
Review Date: May 29, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,299.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: VC works great Silent operation High quality finish Good weight, balances well on 5d Mk11 Amazing image quality
Cons:
Slight Vignetting Canon didn't make it first ; )

This is a fantastic lens & I'm generally a canon L lens type of a guy. That been said I believe in using the best tool that gets the job done.Build quality is really solid & the addition of VC is great, it's f2.8 constant aperture on Full Frame & it's the only on in the world to date with Stabilization in this range. looks materials and constuction all look very good I was so impressed with this lens that I sold my 24-105 f4 L, as this lens is so much better. Its so much lighter than the canon 24-70mm f2.8 L & it has VC. I shot a very low light church function & the VC & auto focus worked great. When I reviewed my images I was blown away by the color rendition & sharpness this lens captured. So If your a wedding, portrait photographer, video shooter or just want an extremely versatile lens than this one rocks hard ; )

May 29, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add michael valeri to your Buddy List  
avgshooter
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 24, 2012
Location: China
Posts: 2
Review Date: May 24, 2012 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: - Very Sharp - Excellent VC - Good build quality
Cons:
- Vignetting - A bit expensive - 82mm Fliter size

I really wanted to love the 24-70L, but I often had difficulty getting tack sharp photos without a tripod. I used to lean all over the place just to get a steady shot in low light.

I really wanted to love the 24-105L, but I often felt the speed of F4 a bit lacking. The shutter speed often dropped too low in low light situations to keep subjects still.

Anyway, here comes the tamron to save the day. The VC works fanstastic and at 2.8 and I've been able to take pictures indoors without a tripod or even thinking about finding a good place to lean against.

The build quality is quite good, not quite up to the L lenses but the zoom action is quite smooth and feels nice in hand. There's a zoom lock button, but I've had no problems with zoom creep.

Image quality is excellent. The lens is very sharp in centre and borders are good even wide open. I've heard other's comment that the bokeh is rubbish. But its quite subjective and I find it quite pleasing.

Now if only canon can make the 24-70 III IS.


May 24, 2012
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add avgshooter to your Buddy List  

   



Tamron 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD SP

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
38 130800 Nov 27, 2021
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $1,114.41
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.65
8.89
8.6
Screen_Shot_2013-11-15_at_10_26_09_AM

supersize


Page:  1 · 2 · 3