backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
120 312035 Feb 5, 2022
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,071.57
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.74
9.56
9.5
ef400mmf_56_1_

Specifications:
This high-performance lens was designed with portability and handling ease in mind. One super UD-glass element, whose characteristics are similar to fluorite, and one UD-glass element result in sharp pictures from corner-to-corner. The lens also has a built-in hood and a detachable tripod mount.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next
      
coburnd
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 31, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 28
Review Date: Mar 31, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very Sharp, Lightweight-great for handheld shooting under optimal lighting conditions, Awesome contrast and color rendition. Awesome price.
Cons:
F/5.6 is slow. Not a great choice for indoor stop-motion/sports photography.

Great for outdoor wildlife photography. Great hand-held telephoto lens under good lighting conditions. I use this lens on a tri-pod with a remote shutter-release under low-light conditions and it works great as long as your subject isn't moving.

View Samples
http://www.danielwcoburn.com
http://www.pbase.com/danielwcoburn/the_silver_portfolio


Mar 31, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add coburnd to your Buddy List  
mickahael
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 24, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Mar 24, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Portable.Great bulid quality. Lightening fast. Razor sharp. Easy handhold lens.
Cons:
None

When you get this lens, remove the tripod bush and put it back in the box. You won't be needing it. This is just a brilliant lens to leave on your camera body and have slung over your shoulder when you are out birding. When the opportunity presents itself ie: nice light, obliging bird, close fly by, just point and shoot away.
In other words the perfect travelling companion. By the way it doesn't have IS.....who needs it !!


Mar 24, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add mickahael to your Buddy List  
EOSMIKE
Offline
[ X ]



Registered: Jun 14, 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2081
Review Date: Feb 3, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: An affordable 'L' lens, that's light, sharp and well-built. This lens can be hand-held if needbe, and is very versatile. (birds, sports, stakeouts!). Came with it's very own CANON case.
Cons:
Obviously, the speed is a major problem (for all but outdoors applications) If used indoors (i.e. for static objects) a monopod/tripod is greatly recommended. If subject is not moving, or moving very slowly, using a highspeed motordrive (i.e. EOS1) burst will also enhance the probability of getting at least one sharp image in a sequence. Can only use centre AF with 1.4x (EOS1)

A lens that is perfect for those walking, hiking, or just plain hauling around all their needed (and required) equipment. After dark, however, it becomes virtually useless, at least compared to your f/2.8 lenses.
Anyone who shoots any outdoor sports:
(esp. baseball/football/soccer) or wildlife (animals/birds)
will definitely want to have this lens at their disposal.

NOTE: on a 1.6x crop factor camera body
(D30D/D60/10D/20D)
this lens has a effective focal length of 640mm

NOTE: on a 1.3x crop factor camera body
(1D/1DMkII/1DMkIIn)
this lens has a effective focal length of 520mm

NOTE: on a FF camera body
(1Ds/1DsII/5D) this lens has a effective focal length of 400mm


Feb 3, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add EOSMIKE to your Buddy List  
johnastovall
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 7, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1332
Review Date: Jan 30, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,070.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very, very sharp, light and easy to handhold and shot with.
Cons:
None

I got this lense for landscapes and wildlife. It is razor sharp and can be hand held very well and panned just fine. It is a lense which you need to understand it's limitations and it's strong points and work within those. Some complain about the f/5.6 but with Canon's low noise at high ISO in the 20D, I don't find it a problem and accepting there are some early morning or late evening shots I can't make. But there it takes far more "WOW" shots than it can't.




Jan 30, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add johnastovall to your Buddy List  
foxbat
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 11, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 344
Review Date: Jan 25, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: AF speed, weight (or lack thereof), sharpness, price
Cons:
none

I've had this lens for over a year now and it still surprises me with its results. Sharpness is beyond criticism and the size and weight means you can easily carry it on location. It fits easily in my Lowepro Microtrekker 200 with lots of other lenses and a camera body.

I go out of my way to use a tripod even in great light and I can regularly get sharp shots down to 1/30s (as long as the subject is co-operative of course). AF speed is extremely fast, you can almost feel the lens buck in your hands as the motor zips into position.

Others have criticised the relatively slow maximum aperture and the lack of IS but I don't believe that's fair. You don't buy this lens and then b*tch about what it doesn't have. You assess it against your needs and then buy it or leave it. Criticism should be levelled against the features that a lens claims to deliver and then falls short. Everything that the 400mm f/5.6L claims to do it delivers in spades. If it fits your requirements then I believe you will be very happy with your purchase.


Jan 25, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add foxbat to your Buddy List  
luckyjon
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 30, 2004
Location: Qatar
Posts: 330
Review Date: Jan 21, 2006 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,064.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Very fast focus, Light enough for handheld shots, Good results when used with a EF1.4x II reasonabley priced
Cons:
f5.6/8 need good light for birding

Can give very sharpe photos.





Jan 21, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add luckyjon to your Buddy List  
uz2work
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 3, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 11935
Review Date: Jan 5, 2006 Recommend? no | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 3 

Pros: Capable of very sharp images, small and light weight for a long lens, ability to focus fast.
Cons:
lack of IS, slow 5.6 maximum aperture.

While the 400/5.6 is potentially capable of very sharp images (just a notch below some of the big ticket long glass, such as the 300/2.8 and 500/4), that potential may not always be realized in real world shooting, depending on the type of shooting one does. For birds in flight with great light, you can't, for $1100, do any better. However, if your shooting style calls for a lot of hand held shooting in less than great light, the lack of IS on this lens severly restricts its use. As I wildlife shooter whose best shot opportunities come right after sunrise or before sunset when the light is not the strongest and whose shooting is mostly hand held, I find the lens to be virtually useless without IS. While I've gotten nice shots with the lens, I haven't gotten any shots that would not have been just as good with one of my other long lenses with IS, and I know that I've missed many great shot opportunities because I didn't have the light to get the shutter speeds that I needed to use the lens without IS.
While I'm sure that it is a great lens for shooting in great light or for someone who always uses a tripod, it is the only lens that I own that I would not buy again if I had it to do over again.


Jan 5, 2006
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add uz2work to your Buddy List  
autzig
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 10, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 94
Review Date: Dec 14, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,099.95 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Very sharp digital images right out of the camera. Fast autofocus.
Cons:
With f5.6 being wide open, it is difficult to use fast shutter speeds.

This is an outstanding lens for the money. The quality and sharpness of the photos I have taken with this lens are truly amazing. It is solidly built and comes with a built-in lens hood. The auto focus is very fast. For a faster lens you have to pay thousands of dollars of dollars more. For this price the quality is unmatched.

Dec 14, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add autzig to your Buddy List  
jmraso
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 25, 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 3920
Review Date: Nov 26, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

Pros: Great lens. very sharp and fast focusing. Afforable price compare with its brothers.
Cons:
No IS for handheld shots.

Since I got it I hardly use the 100 400 IS when I go birding.

Pretty nice images when printing.

Im very happy.

Jaime
www.jmraso.com


Nov 26, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jmraso to your Buddy List  
Gino02GT
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Aug 4, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 1122
Review Date: Oct 13, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Absolutely tack sharp, lightning fast (and silent) autofocus
Cons:
None

A simply amazing lens to get you into the supertelephoto focal lengths at a reasonable price. The next step for more millimeters from Canon is going to cost you over $4,000 more.

The only reason I stop this lens down is for more depth of field. Sharpness is never an issue when shooting with this lens, keep it wide open and fire away.

I chose this in the end over the 300/4L IS because of the focal length, and VERY glad that I did. 300 wouldn't even be close to the reach I need for wildlife. On a related note, this lens performs wonderfully with my 1.4x extender, which I frequently use with it. No perceptible loss in quality with my copies.

Without the IS, this lens does take a little practice when long lenses are completely new to you. A good tripod is a must.

You can go on about how fast the autofocus is with this lens, but you still won't be able to fully describe how great it is. Definately something one has to experience.

If you're looking for a lot of reach and are shooting in conditions where good light won't be a problem, this lens is for you.


Oct 13, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Gino02GT to your Buddy List  
tanglefoot47
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 12, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 14887
Review Date: Oct 12, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,069.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp, great color and contrast, fast focus, light weight
Cons:
11 ft minium focus distance

One of the best lenses for the buck. This lens is tack sharp and fast to focus I love it.

Oct 12, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add tanglefoot47 to your Buddy List  
M.Sears
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jun 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 92
Review Date: Oct 1, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,095.00 | Rating: 9 

Pros: Lightweight, compact, very sharp with good contrast. Fast focus speed. Works well with a 1.4 extender on pro-bodies like the 1DMKII.
Cons:
F -5.6 but of course thats why we get the compact and lightweight. No IS which would really put it over the top.

I love this lens for any 400mm aplication that is not in dim light. In those cases you have to lug the 400 2.8 IS which is a world beater, but just so heavy you cant move around much. For fast moving news assignments and daylight sports this lens is just excellent. Great lens for wildlife in action as well. The freedom of movement it allows is incredible and I dont think other than being an F-stop faster the new 400 F-4 DO canon lens has any sharpness advantage over it either. The 400 2.8 is a bit sharper at 2.8 than this lens at 5.6, but not all that much. Build quality is excellent. Very very hand holdable. Just keep the shutter speed at or above 1000th. Not that I have not used it much lower on occasion, but its best to stick at least to a 500th hand held. It works with the 1.4x converter on pro-bodies and you lose very little in auto focus speed. Still very sharp.
It is not super close focusing, so if you want to photograph small birds closeup, the shorter Canon extension tube makes that easy, while still maintaining the ability to focus at middle distances. Since buying it the mobility this lens allows has got me several really nice photos, in situations where I would not have had this focal length along otherwise.
Makes a great daylight lens for covering golf as well. With the low noise levels of the EOS 1DMKII maximum aperature of 5.6 is not much of a handicap. 400 ISO and 800 ISO are very usable.


Oct 1, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add M.Sears to your Buddy List  
Venus
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 15, 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 632
Review Date: Sep 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros:
Cons:

I have never owned a telephoto lens I love so much. End of story.

Sep 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Venus to your Buddy List  
ctranter
Offline
[ X ]

Registered: May 31, 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 197
Review Date: Sep 8, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

Pros: Razor sharp, lightweight, not too bulky, super fast AF
Cons:
Long minimum focal distance

My first L lens, and also my breakthough into the longer line-up of lenses. The quality of this lens just blows me away. The build quality is great, the AF is soo fast and silent and it is unbelievably sharp.

I can whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone who is interested in wildlife/bird photography. I can handhold birds in flight with ease due to its low weight and fast AF. When used with the 1.4x extender on my 300d you get an effective length of 896mm, with no loss in quality! Definately my favorite lens.

People say its too slow, sure go for the 400mm f/2.8, if you can afford it. But this still is an amazing lens for the price.

One warning once you get into things you'll want longer..... Oh why is the 500mm so expensive :P





Sep 8, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add ctranter to your Buddy List  
RikWriter
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 2953
Review Date: Aug 10, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $850.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: Sharp as a razor, great color rendition, light enough to use handheld.
Cons:
A bit slow, but if you want a 400mm f4 you gotta pay a heck of a lot more for it.

This is the red-headed stepchild of long L lenses...people overlook it for the 100-400L. I almost did...but I found a hellaciously good deal on a barely-used 400 f5.6L and man, what a lens this is. Just tack sharp, as sharp as any lens I've used, with awesome colors and good contrast. I am amazed at how good this lens is for the price.

Aug 10, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add RikWriter to your Buddy List  
bret
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Nov 11, 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Review Date: Aug 3, 2005 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

Pros: It produces sharp and contrasty photos. It is fine for handheld use. The built-in hood is good.
Cons:
None that I know.

I love this lens. I will probably use it mostly at the beach for surf pictures, I don't know why I would need anything faster. I have no complaints at all.
I did get the hood stuck a little when I first got it.


Aug 3, 2005
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add bret to your Buddy List  




Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
120 312035 Feb 5, 2022
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $1,071.57
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.74
9.56
9.5
ef400mmf_56_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8  next