backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
66 200619 May 19, 2021
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $5,951.77
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.64
8.11
9.4
224-70

Specifications:
Constant maximum aperture of f/2.8 at all focal lengths
Enhanced optical formulas, engineered to produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, render outstanding image integrity
ED (Extra-low dispersion) glass elements minimize chromatic aberration to deliver stunning sharpness and contrast
Aspherical lenses including large-diameter PGM element eliminate various types of lens aberration even at the widest aperture
Nano Crystal Coat virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections, effectively reducing ghosting and flare
High-performance Nikon Super Integrated Coating offers superior color reproduction, while minimizing ghosting and flare
IF (Internal Focusing) enables focusing without changing the length of lens barrel
Nikon’s exclusive Silent Wave Motor for fast, quiet autofocus operation
Rounded diaphragm opening (9 blades) makes out-of-focus elements appear more natural
M/A mode enables instant switching from autofocus to manual focus, even during AF servo operation, with virtually no time lag
Dedicated flower-shaped lens hood effectively minimizes stray light
Lens barrel is built for comfortable holding while featuring a rugged design; zoom and focusing rings provide smooth operation
______________________________

Focal length: 24-70 mm
Maximum aperture: f/2.8
Minimum aperture: f/22
Lens construction: 15 elements in 11 groups (with 3 ED glass elements, 3 aspherical lenses and one Nano Crystal Coat)
Picture angle: 84° - 34°20’ (61° - 22°50’ with DX-format camera)
Closest focus distance: 0.38 m/1.2 ft. (with focal length 35-50 mm
Maximum reproduction ratio: 1/3.7
No. of diaphragm blades: 9 (rounded)
Filter/attachment size: 77 mm
Focusing: Internal Focusing (IF) system; autofocus with a built-in SWM and manual focus
Diameter x length
(extension from lens mount): Approx. 83 x 133 mm/3.3 x 5.2 in.
Weight: Approx. 900 g/31.7 oz.
Supplied accessories: Bayonet Hood HB-40, Semi-soft Case CL-M3


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next
          
nycandre
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Review Date: Jan 10, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super sharp, focuses fast and accurately in all conditions
Cons:
Heavy, big and expensive - but you knew that Doesn't focus that close in macro mode - can't have it all ..

Just a fantastic lens all around. I don't regret the high price.
But I may get a second, maybe less performing zoom just so it isn't so heavy and noticeable. Or wait for that Fuji X100.

Then again, you can't beat its oomph and versatility, especially combined with the D700.

Example, shot on the spur of the moment in low light with moving elements, so had to rely blind on the autofocus - and it delivered.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nycandre/5345540426/
Shot at 1/125 f/2.8 ISO 3200 66mm


Jan 10, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nycandre to your Buddy List  
kja777
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Nov 8, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jan 2, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Rendering / color palette, image quality, sharpness, speed, very low vignetting.
Cons:
Size / weight and sadly, price (but you usually get what you pay for).

Some reviewers posted a low score for this lens because they felt it was too heavy - what??? Didn't you pick it up in the store? Sheesh.

Having been a Canon shooter for 25+ years, this was the first lens I bought when migrating from Canon to Nikon two years ago. I can assure you after 25 years Canon L class glass cannot hold a candle to this lens.

I have consistently found the 24-70's image quality to be outstanding. It doesn't matter what light levels I use this lens in, it doesn't matter the color of light I'm shooting in, nor does subject movement throw it any curves - this lens performs the same way in a very consistent and very dependable manner. Also, I love it's color palette. It is a bit weak at 24mm (distortion) but cleans up to stellar levels at 26mm and stays there throughout the zoom range.

If all you REQUIRE is an f/5.6 lens then sure, go for the lower priced Nikon options. But two full stops of light IS a big deal so; for full frame shooters or, those who seek demanding performance this lens produces amazing imagery.

BTW - I have multiple Zeiss lenses including the 35mm F/2 and 50mm makro. From a sharpness perspective this 24-70mm zoom lens matches the Zeiss. It is the Zeiss RENDERING of images that makes me choose it for certain scenes over this 24-70.

The ONLY reason I did not give this lens a 10 out of 10 is that to me, 10=perfection and I do not think this lens reaches "perfection" status - but - it is an amazing lens that does in fact rival primes for image quality.


Jan 2, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add kja777 to your Buddy List  
romeo_popescu
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 13, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 0
Review Date: Jul 8, 2010 Recommend? no | Price paid: $2,000.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: full frame
Cons:
very heavy, too expensive

Very heavy, makes carrying your camera around less and less desirable with every day that passes. During the summer the difference is even more noticeable.

I had people commenting on the fact that they felt intimidated by the size of the lens. It is difficult to go unnoticed for candid or street photography.

Picture quality is great, but (at least my copy) does not feel as “exceptional” as other reviews made me to expect. I cannot see any notable difference in the pictures when compared to lenses that cost a fifth of what this one costs, enlarged to 100 % side by side in Adobe LightRoom when the same camera body is used.

For me the “value for money” just isn’t there, especially in this economy. Do yourself a favor and stick to a DX body and lenses between $200 and $600. Nothing wrong there and no one will notice the difference in the photos. Just get out there and take pictures rather than spending all your money on overpriced equipment and be left with no money to travel, (unless you are a pro).

Hey, just my 5 cents.


Jul 8, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add romeo_popescu to your Buddy List  
Kurt Jones
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 19, 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 5052
Review Date: Apr 10, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp !! very low flare due to excellent coatings. Did I say SHARP !
Cons:
still prefer internal zooming but overall no negatives so far

I just switched over to Nikon from 20 years of Canon 'L' use.
This lens replaced 4-5 L primes and did it WELL.
Very happy with the new Nano Nikon glass !


Apr 10, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Kurt Jones to your Buddy List  
palna
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 8, 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 9, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build. Sharp right open.
Cons:
maybe a little heawy.

I come from canon 5d mark II and 24-105 L. I must say that I am impressed with this lens on D3s. It is fantastic sharp from 2.8 and the aperture 4 is a miracle. It has a nice bokeh. I can highly recommend this lens to anyone considering buying this lens.

Apr 9, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add palna to your Buddy List  
robertw164
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 25, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mar 28, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp, fast focus, VR, good tripod collar
Cons:
Price & weight but you expect that.

This lens is everything a pro caliber fast lens should be. Very sharp, fast focus, smooth zoom, it's all good. Wouldn't mind if were a bit cheaper and lighter but for indoor sports action on a D700, there is no equal - sorry Canon.

Mar 28, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add robertw164 to your Buddy List  
jolahern
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 26, 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 236
Review Date: Feb 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp throughout the focal length, even at f/2.8. No barrel distortion problems compared to other zoom lenses in range.
Cons:
Not as sharp as the 14-24mm at 24mm, but then what is?

I moved from Canon to Nikon having used the Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 and Canon 24-105mm. Was never truly happy with either, the 24-70mm went back to Canon for adjustment, came back decent sharp at 70mm, but 24mm was not as good. For landscapes the 24mm end suffered in the corners.
The 24-105mm was a sharper lens, but suffered from horrible barrel distortion at the 24mm end.
The Nikon is brilliant, sharp from 24 to 70mm and at f/2.8, it is also a bit lighter than the Canon 24-70mm f/2.8.
I started wedding photography last year and this was one of the reasons for moving to Nikon, it sits on my D3 with a SB-900 as the main workhorse for wedding work and I have complete faith in it and that set up.
For landscape work the 14-24mm is sharper, but then that is an outstanding piece of optics, but it is only a 2x zoom while the 24-70mm is a 3x zoom, also the 24-70mm can take filters which is why is sees more use than the 14-24mm for landscape work.


Feb 6, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add jolahern to your Buddy List  
Ventura CA
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jan 23, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 270
Review Date: Feb 4, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,630.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The standard in standard zooms. Few can match it...
Cons:
Not cheap, not light (not really a concern for most)


Razor sharp! Blazing focus speed. Excellent Build Quality. The standard by which all others are nor measured.

Cost continues to be the only prohibition. Not light either- but both aspects are far from being deal breakers. Embrace the heft.


Feb 4, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ventura CA to your Buddy List  
Fred Amico
Offline
Buy and Sell: On



Registered: Nov 18, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 8284
Review Date: Jan 29, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very sharp lens with good color fidelity.
Cons:
Heavy and somewhat expensive, but you do get what you paid for.

This lens shines on a full frame camera. It has turned out to be my most used lens on a D700. Although it makes for a heavy combo with the D700, it's worth it to me because of how sharp this lens is. I've had mine for a little over a year now, and am always impressed when I review pictures I've taken with it.

There have been some reports of sticky or stiff zoom rings with this lens, but mine does not exhibit this behavior.


Jan 29, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Fred Amico to your Buddy List  
spxxxx
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 26, 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 536
Review Date: Jan 6, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Razor sharp - fast focus - great colour and contrast
Cons:
None

Got this lens as soon as it was released and have used it for the remainder of the wedding season.

It is razor sharp and the colours and contrast are a definite step up from the older model - which in itself was excellent.

Build quality is what you have come to expect from Nikon professional offerings and even though expensive performs excellently.

Check out my blog for this and the new 70-200 VRII

#2 #3 #6 #9 of the following were with the 24-70

http://simonrevill.com/blog/wedding/natalie-and-richard-wedding-crooked-spire-chesterfield-19th-december-2009


Jan 6, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add spxxxx to your Buddy List  
violetblue
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 21, 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 59
Review Date: Dec 10, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One of the best lens in Nikons lineup
Cons:
None

Excellent lens, better than Canons version.

Dec 10, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add violetblue to your Buddy List  
skyvan
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 28, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1081
Review Date: Oct 29, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely sharp, Covers a very wide range, quick autofocus
Cons:
Pusher Type Zoom, No VR

This may be the best lens I own. I find it to be sharper than my 70-200 f/2.8 VR and even my 50 f1.8 prime.
This lens is great and if you have a full frame camera this covers just about everything you need in a walk around lens. I carry this on my d700 with the 70-200 on my d90 (to shoot it in its sweet spot and for a little extra reach) and it is a great set up. This lens is well worth its price and the trouble you may go to finding one in stock.
However it is a pusher zoom so it does extend at the edges of the focal range, longest at 24, non extended at 50 and halfway extended at 70. It requires me to keep the hood on to avoid accidental damage and unfortunately in inclement weather it is a very big downside. However despite that it still receives a 10 rating from me because of its amazing sharpness and autofocus capabilities. I find it to be just as sharp at f/2.8 as at f/4 or f/5.6 which is really amazing and useful.


Oct 29, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add skyvan to your Buddy List  
iammikie
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Oct 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 804
Review Date: Oct 12, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharpness, balance, build.......Quality all the way
Cons:
Price, but you get what you pay for.

On the D3X it is quite unbelieveable... a match made in Nikon Heaven

Oct 12, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add iammikie to your Buddy List  
RaulG
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 9, 2003
Location: Spain
Posts: 98
Review Date: Aug 6, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast, sharp, in one word.. amazing
Cons:
none

For me a must have. Perfect for everything

Aug 6, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add RaulG to your Buddy List  
like_this
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jun 3, 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 158
Review Date: Jun 3, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unbeaten at 2,8; incredible sharp at 4,0. Good closest focus distance: 0.38 m/1.2 ft. Excellent built quality.
Cons:
none

Even on DX a great Portaitlens. My odds-on favorit.

Jun 3, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add like_this to your Buddy List  
Bram1982
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Jul 18, 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 7
Review Date: May 2, 2009 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: -Very sharp, pefectly usable at F2.8. Fast focus, good build quality
Cons:
-Lens shadow visible when used at wideangle with the D700 popup flash (goes away at 35mm) Why does this lens extend when going wide? -Got some moisture in front element. That part could easily have been better sealed! -Lubricants malfunctioned one day, causing very stiff zooming (went away in a day or 2, probably caused by moisturous environment) -Quite big! -Expensive!

This lens is very good. It has the best sharpness @ F2.8 I have ever seen in a zoomlens, it has fast & accurate focus and has little vignetting.

Build quality is good / very good, but the front element could have been better sealed. Mine got a little moisture there which could have been prevented, if of course I didnt place it lens down in a backpack that had water in the bottom, but could also have been prevented if Nikon just sealed the front part. Still it IS a 1450 euro lens, so why not add one more seal for that price?

Also it appeared that the lubricants inside the lens got too dry or something when I used it in a moisture environment one day. When I was pointing up and going to 24mm, the lens got really stiff and almost felt like it got stuck! Don't really know what happened. Probably a moisturous environment caused the lubricants to stop working correctly because after two days in a hotelroom everyting was normal again.

This lens is THE lens for the D700 and indeed works great. It's really too bad the popup flash casts a shadow when you use it at the 24-35mm range. For some reason the lens extends when going wide!?

This is a very good lens, but for the price I paid I expected no flash block at wideangle, better sealing at front and no weird stiffness because I used it one day in a moisturous environment.


May 2, 2009
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Bram1982 to your Buddy List  

   



Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED NIKKOR AF-S

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
66 200619 May 19, 2021
Recommended By Average Price
92% of reviewers $5,951.77
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
9.64
8.11
9.4
224-70


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5  next