backup
Photoshop actions
 
 

Search Used

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
319 536412 Oct 15, 2020
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $350.43
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.90
9.42
9.4
ef85mmf_18usm_1_

Specifications:
A highly practical medium telephoto lens with superb delineation and portability. Images are sharp and clear at all apertures. Through computer simulations, the lens has been designed to give beautiful background blur. Since the front lens group does not rotate during focusing special filter effects are not affected.


 


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next
          
Scott Hortop
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 1, 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 0
Review Date: Feb 1, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great for portraiture; sharp!
Cons:
CA issues, certainly at f2.2 or less

I had very apparent CA shooting outdoors on a Canon 500D. Never noticed CA even at full aperture on indoor portraits on my 5D.

Feb 1, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Scott Hortop to your Buddy List  
nycandre
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Apr 23, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 34
Review Date: Jan 26, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Inexpensive - high image quality - very sharp ..
Cons:
Doesn't focus that fast

Shot daylight handheld - shot w/20D ISO 200 1/750 f/4
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nycandre/2603470465/
A very sharp image, see the accompanying enlargement

Also very hard to beat for indoor shots in low light

The Kiss - shot w/EOS 5D at ISO 1600 1/50 f/2.8 w/85mm F/1.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nycandre/5389132199/

Guitar players jamming - Shot w/20D ISO 1600 1/6 F/2.8
http://www.flickr.com/photos/nycandre/2339558065/



Jan 26, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nycandre to your Buddy List  
dkmiles1
Offline
Image Upload: On



Registered: Nov 19, 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 809
Review Date: Jan 12, 2011 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $369.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Decent build, great optics for the money, fast accurate focus, smooth and buttery bokeh - one of the single best values in the entire Canon line up
Cons:
None, especially when you consider the price of the lens

I put together a pretty comprehensive review of this lens on YouTube, you can check it out here;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GX8Cxx20Zcc

In a nutshell, the is a top notch lens even when you don't consider the price point, when price is factored in then its one of the single best values (if not the best value) in the entire Canon line up...

As much fanfare as there has been about the new Sigma - and I've seen some of the posts, the results from that lens look great - its nearly triple the cost of the Canon, and its optically maybe 5% better... The 85mm 1.8 is nearly a no-brainer...

Great for portraits and low light shooting, its a great deal, enjoy!!!


Jan 12, 2011
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add dkmiles1 to your Buddy List  
out_of_focus
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Mar 16, 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 0
Review Date: Oct 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sharp from f/2.2, very fast autofocus, nicely build
Cons:
annoying CA from f/1.8-2.8, a bit too soft on f/1.8 and f/2

I own this lens for more than a year and I'm really satisfied with images it delivers. It's a great lens for shooting portraits and indoor sports, my main lens for shooting basketball and second lens for volleyball (among with my 200 f/2.8). It'a also nicely build, not as good as Ls, but still feels solid enough for this price tag. I expected it to be more sharp on f/1.8 and f/2, but that's not a big flaw for me. The only thing I'm really complaining about, is that this lens produces huge CA between f/1.8-2.8. It's really noticeable should be controlled better.
Some shots of handball that I took with this lens:
http://www.damianglowacki.pl/photo/index.php?album=photoreports/Sport1


Oct 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add out_of_focus to your Buddy List  
Todd Klassy
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Sep 27, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 290
Review Date: Oct 11, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp, focus speed, light weight, and price.
Cons:
Soft at f/1.8 and minimal chromatic aberration (CA).

The Canon 85mm f/1.8 USM is arguably the biggest bang for the buck in Canon's line-up of lenses. It is an excellent lens to own, especially good for shooting indoor sports. Focus is fast and image quality is exceptional for what this lens usually costs. Images are a tad soft wide open, but that's often the case for lenses in this price range and it still performs better than the 50mm f/1.4 wide open.

IMHO the focal length is a tad long for cameras with a APS-C sized sensor (i.e. 1.6 crop factor), but that also depends on how you plan to use it.

That said, those who compare it negatively to the Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L USM don't know what they are talking about. Yes, the cost of this lens is a fraction of that for the 85mm f/1.2L, but the optics on this lens' more expensive cousin is out of this world and can not be fairly compared to this lens. The bokeh of the f/1.2L is also infinitely nicer than the 85mm f/1.8. These are two different lenses, and for the post part, meant for two different markets and two different types of buyers.

Here are a few examples of photographs I have taken with this lens:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/266287266/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/262713309/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/263163874/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/latitudes/248610683/


Oct 11, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Todd Klassy to your Buddy List  
Ulan
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 14, 2008
Location: Belgium
Posts: 236
Review Date: Sep 12, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Reasonably sharp, nice bokeh, cheap, good for portrait, nice built
Cons:
requires a tripod for good results

This is a good lens, though not stellar. Not as sharp as I expected at f/1.8. Suitable for portraits, but with tripod.

Sep 12, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add Ulan to your Buddy List  
nirajphoto
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Jul 15, 2010
Location: India
Posts: 18
Review Date: Aug 1, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, bokeh, image quality, build, USM
Cons:
none.

I have this lens since about an year now and its one of the best I have used. I love the build and the fast focus with the wide aperture. The bokeh is superb. It suffers from some purple fringing at 1.8 but thats common for most lenses this wide. This settles down even at f2.0 or 2.2. The noticeable thing about bokeh is that at 1.8 its perfectly circular and at all other apertures, there are edges to it (but that I guess is common for all lenses this wide). All in all its great for portraits. Its not a macro so the min focus distance is not suited for closeups. Becomes a 136mm (1.6x) on my 7D.

Some pics at www.blog.nirajkedar.com


Aug 1, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add nirajphoto to your Buddy List  
webman06
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 21, 2004
Location: France
Posts: 50
Review Date: Jul 27, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bokeh, price, image quality
Cons:
none

This lens is a great performer as a portrait lens. Seeing its performance, i cannot justify the extra cost for the 1.2L
Very versatile and i just recommand it !!!


Jul 27, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add webman06 to your Buddy List  
rndman
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 10, 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 27
Review Date: Jul 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $330.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open. Bokeh...
Cons:
What?

Best bang for buck. With this performance, how can you justify 85mm L which is 5 times the cost of this, just for F1.2 and red ring?

Jul 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add rndman to your Buddy List  
hatch1921
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: May 12, 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5793
Review Date: Jul 16, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $370.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super sharp! Fast focus! Bokeh isn't bad... nice focal length.
Cons:
CA in some situations.

For the price to performance ratio... this lens is a winner! Super fast to focus... super sharp!
Looking forward to using this lens more than the first copy I bought and sold.
Well worth the $ IMO.

Nice little prime!

Hatch


Jul 16, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add hatch1921 to your Buddy List  
erikburd
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Feb 3, 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 734
Review Date: Jun 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $375.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very sharp, excellent bokeh, fast focus, gives excellent pictures even at f/2. Lightweight - don't even know it's attached.
Cons:
You will see some CA at f/1.8, but goes away from f/2.2 onwards. Not a problem for me, as a rarely (if ever) use f/1.8.

I use this as a medium telephoto, largely for portraits and as a walk around lens. It's a bit on the long side on 1.6 crop cameras (I have an XSi) when using it as a walk around lens, but it works pretty well.

The 3 foot minimum focusing distances takes some time to get used to, since some of my other lenses have much shorter focusing distances.

Simply put - no complaints and an excellent lens for the price. Excellent bang for the buck.


Jun 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Add erikburd to your Buddy List  
Annapurna
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Dec 29, 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 90
Review Date: Jun 21, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Right on every time. Wish all lenses were as goo as this.
Cons:
None

Everytime I use this lens I am surprised how good it is.


Jun 21, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Annapurna to your Buddy List  
tororo
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: May 26, 2010
Location: Japan
Posts: 49
Review Date: May 26, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice bokeh, sharp, light-weight, fast USM
Cons:
CA at wide open

Focus is fast and very accurate. Sharp and nice bokeh.
85mm 1.2L was too heavy and also wide open was not very good so I kept this one.
At wide open, you have to be careful with what you shoot since CA at wide open can get hefty depending on the subject.


May 26, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add tororo to your Buddy List  
kkroeker
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Feb 3, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 146
Review Date: Apr 20, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $379.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open and beautiful bokeh
Cons:
none so far.

Sharp, sharp & sharp...even wide open @ 1.8 this baby is sharp! The bokeh is oh soooooooo creamy too Wink I don't know why I waited so long to get it. If your're considering buying this lens just go & buy it... you'll love it Wink

I am shooting it on a 7d.


Apr 20, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add kkroeker to your Buddy List  
Trevor Sowers
Offline
Image Upload: Off



Registered: Aug 14, 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 111
Review Date: Apr 14, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sharp wide open. Good build. Light. Fast and accurate AF.
Cons:
Would prefer a bayonet hood although the clip on one has not been a problem it's just finickier to attach.

I don't hesitate to shoot wide open. I love this lens for portraits indoors and out. I also use it for sports where it's wide aperture and fast AF rock!

If you think you want a short telephoto prime don't waste your time thinking about it, just buy it.


Apr 14, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Trevor Sowers to your Buddy List  
Marc de Wit
Offline
Image Upload: Off

Registered: Apr 3, 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 0
Review Date: Apr 7, 2010 Recommend? yes | Price paid: Not Indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast AF , usable 1.8 , very sharp starting at 2.5 , colors , bokeh
Cons:
To much CA , very poor hood (very loose clampsystem ) , Canon's arrogancy in not changing this and still asking a lot of dollars / euros is unbelievable.


Top IQ ,
the hood is a disaster and not Canon worthy


Apr 7, 2010
View profile View recent posts View reviews Visit Homepage Add Marc de Wit to your Buddy List  

   



Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

Buy from B&H Photo
Reviews Views Date of last review
319 536412 Oct 15, 2020
Recommended By Average Price
95% of reviewers $350.43
Build Quality Rating Price Rating Overall Rating
8.90
9.42
9.4
ef85mmf_18usm_1_


Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11>  next