New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Black & White Vision | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2009 · James Krenov...

Albert Taylor
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · James Krenov...

The renowned cabinetmaker who started the fine woodworking program at College of the Redwoods in northern California where I studied for a year passed away Wednesday. This is a picture I took of him in his shop while I was there.

Sep 11, 2009 at 10:04 PM
Brian Goodman
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · James Krenov...

I really love portraits where we see individuals with their craft. There is something captured of the person, their comfort with their space and the story of their elements.

What did you take it with?
I see some central light, I presume a skylight?

Thanks for sharing!

Sep 12, 2009 at 08:37 AM
T-bone1
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · James Krenov...

Great for memorializing. To see someone in their element like this is a family treasure of a shot.
-Tim

Sep 12, 2009 at 10:37 AM
Albert Taylor
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · James Krenov...

Thanks Brian and Tim. His shop was designed to catch a lot of natural light. When he realized I was going to take some pictures he picked up the hammer used to tune the wooden handplanes. He wanted to have that in his hand for the pictures. When he died he had a small piece of wood in his hand.

This was one of the last of the small cabinets he built before his eyesight became so poor he could no longer build. He then began making only wooden handplanes which he could do by feel, and shortly before his death he had stopped that as well...

In answer to your question Brian, I took this with a cheap point and shoot 35mm camera. I posted it in my Flickr account and in the exif data there it says it was an HP digital point and shoot. I think it got confused because I scanned the photograph with an HP scanner.

Sep 12, 2009 at 05:09 PM
Kaden K.
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · James Krenov...