Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Input wanted from owners/users of both the Z8 and the R5.

Rudy Pohl
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Input wanted from owners/users of both the Z8 and the R5.

In the next 6 months I expect to be making an important gear decision and would really like some input regarding the choices. I will be choosing between 3 options:
1) Continuing with my excellent, glitch-free R5
2) Upgrading to the new R5II, assuming it has major improvements
3) Buying a Nikon Z8 and selling my Canon gear.

Some background:
I have been doing photography since 1970 (Pentax Spotmatic) and bought my first Nikon SLR in 1978. I have been a Nikon user all that time until October 2022 when I sold most of my DSLR Nikon gear and bought a Canon R5 and an RF100-500 L lens. I do exclusively wildlife and 80-90% of my time is spent doing videos and 10-20% doing stills.

I switched to Canon after 2 years of frustration waiting for Nikon to get a decent AF tracking capability, especially for doing wildlife video. At that time the Z8 was nowhere on the horizon and the Z9 was still having lots of AF problems, and besides, it was far too heavy and expensive for me. To-date almost every one of my wildlife Nikon photo-buddies has bought the Z8 and the Z 180-600mm lens and they love them.

I have intentionally not bought any additional Canon lenses or accessories in the last 19 months so I can be relatively free to leave the Canon world without loosing my financial shirt and rejoin Nikon if I feel it's a better choice for me. I expect to know better when the R5II is out and reviewed by some trusted reviewers.

If you were in my position, that is doing only wildlife, 80-90% of it video, and with budget being a consideration, what would you do and why?