New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

400 2.8 FL in 2024?

DanielDuarte

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 400 2.8 FL in 2024?

New Z9 owner, I shoot a lot of outdoor sports and about 99% of that is golf.

Zero wildlife in my future.

The 400 2.8 Z is too expensive for me to justify.

The 400 4.5, while a true performer feels like a toy.

The 400 2.8 FL splits the decision... 15K for the big boy, 3K for the 4.5, and about 5 grand for the FL.

I am worried about the lens crapping out on me and no longer being serviced by Nikon.

Anyone else face the same decision.

May 21, 2024 at 09:56 AM
Creative Edge
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 400 2.8 FL in 2024?

I have been shooting with FL version for the past 4-5 years and love it. I have seen some selling for 4300 or so, a no brainer and Nikon should have parts for a while.

Edited on May 21, 2024 at 11:58 AM · View previous versions

May 21, 2024 at 10:03 AM
carl_g
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 400 2.8 FL in 2024?

I would go with the 400 2.8 FL and adapt it over the newer, native 400mm, 4.5.

All the 400 f/2.8 primes are some of the best lenses Nikon makes available. If you are Ok with the weight and using an FTZ adapter, then go for it!

Good Luck!

May 21, 2024 at 11:32 AM
Vinnie_VdB
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 400 2.8 FL in 2024?

If the budget is there for the 2.8 FL then go for it. This lens will still get services for the years to come and you enjoying shooting this gem.

May 21, 2024 at 11:51 AM
Kasper6188
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · 400 2.8 FL in 2024?

The 400FL is special indeed. I've owned and sold the Z 400 TC now two times and went back to the FL if that says anything. The FL has a perfect balance of sharpness and contrast and renders such realistic looking images compared to any other Nikon 400 (my personal opinion of course) The Z glass is so damn sharp it takes away some of the natural look to me.