New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

1              3              10       11       end

Is the Sony A9iii hype fading away?

snapsy
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Is the Sony A9iii hype fading away?

lightskyland wrote:
I think the A9III is a significantly better general use camera than anything else out there.

The highest-resolution max DR people are much more of a niche than the masses of people buying cameras who want totally easy and accurate AF in photo and video without weird still and motion artifacts.

I'm a landscape photographer primarily, but I know I'm in the small minority who is better off with an ACR / A7R5 than an A9III.

The A1 is a nice compromise but the A9III just a lot more capable for anything that moves with pre-capture, 120FPS, more AF accuracy, and zero motion
...Show more

In that case the A9 III is destroying everything but sales - even here on FM, which is home to some of the most niche subjsets of photographers, it doesn't seem to have gained much traction, niche or otherwise. So it doesn't seem the market agrees, or at least doesn't believe the qualities you list are important enough to position an A9 III purchase ahead of the alternatives.

Apr 16, 2024 at 09:30 AM
berimbolo
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Is the Sony A9iii hype fading away?

I think for a lot of people, the A1's autofocus and frame rate are good enough that the benefits of a higher MP sensor and better IQ make the A1 far superior to the A9iii. I do not think there is enough data to suggest that the A9iii is the best stills camera. Id like to see some genuinely artistic wildlife images taken in dramatic and difficult lighting situations before making a claim like that. Action wildlife photography is not the entirety of wildlife photography. To many people, its actually the least interesting form of wildlife photography.

Apr 16, 2024 at 09:50 AM
lightskyland