Username  

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Super amateur soccer photography enthusiast seeking help

509soccershooter

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Super amateur soccer photography enthusiast seeking help

Brand new member, recommended by friend.
I am an extremely amateur soccer photography enthusiast looking for some basic info to move my skillset forward

Basically two questions:

1) Is my current gear good enough or should I upgrade?
Currently using the Nikon kit from Costco. D3500 with the AF-P 70-300mm lens. Willing to upgrade gear but went too far down the rabbit hole and not sure if mirrorless is the way to go and what a good entry-level step-up would be?

2) Seeking recommendations on how to expand my knowledge of photography, specifically sports photography. Looked all over online and again so much info not sure where to start and froze... Is there an online course anyone has used they recommend?

Thanks in advance, really appreciate the help. A couple photos of where I am at skill level so far attached

Apr 15, 2024 at 03:35 PM
Panorascal
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Super amateur soccer photography enthusiast seeking help

Not sure how much it will make a difference with a kit lens* but I always shoot wide open (aperture) to blur the background and isolate the subject. Looks like you're nailing focus with that camera, at least in these samples.
Beyond that, in my experience the players love the reaction/interaction shots more than the action, so don't forget to shoot the celebration/agony even if you miss the goal.

* a 2.8 zoom is recommendation #1regardless of camera type. Especially if you're stuck behind a fence, you can shoot right through it at f2.8. I got many awesome shots with a d7100 and a 70-200 f2.8 zoom.

Apr 15, 2024 at 04:53 PM
crteach
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Super amateur soccer photography enthusiast seeking help