Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Advice Requested - Possibly Switching to Fuji from M43 (Olympus)

seattlebruin
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Advice Requested - Possibly Switching to Fuji from M43 (Olympus)

Has anyone switched to Fuji from Olympus M43? If so, what did you think about the relative size of the systems and quality of imagery?

I've been shooting Olympus Micro 4/3 for about 6 or 7 years and currently shoot an OM-1 with a decent chunk of the Pro series lenses. I've been thinking about switching systems though and leaning towards Fuji if I do switch because I'm looking for a higher resolution body.

I've loved my Olympus system because of the size and compactness, but I'd really like a higher resolution body for more cropping since I do a lot of aviation and can't really get closer in most scenarios. I really want to stay with a native APS-C or smaller system because my other main type of shooting is travel where size and compactness of the whole kit is heavily preferred.

I hadn't really considered Fuji until recently with the X-T5 having a much higher resolution sensor and the 150-600 looking like a great lens. I am not really considering Canon or Sony at this point, Canon because they have never really developed small and light lenses for APS-C and Sony because I'm not a huge fan of the rangefinder style of body.

Looking for any thoughts the community might have!

Feb 12, 2024 at 12:20 PM
johnvanr
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Advice Requested - Possibly Switching to Fuji from M43 (Olympus)

I compared the sizes a long time ago and concluded the jump from MFT to APS-c wasnít worth the increased size of the lenses. That was before Fuji got 40mp sensors, so I donít know how those compare against just having longer MFT glass.

Feb 12, 2024 at 12:43 PM