Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              6       7       end

Is the ancient 40d still worth shooting?

well69
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Is the ancient 40d still worth shooting?

I'm not a professional photographer. Just a guy who likes good pictures of his kids.

I recently found my camera gear (was in storage for a few years) and am wondering if so much has changed with mirrorless and sensors that it's not worth playing with the 40d... I used to lust after the full frame goodness of the 5d, but wondering if I should just be happy with what I have - or if I need to budget for an Rs or similar used full frame mirrorless.

Feb 12, 2024 at 10:31 AM
chez
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Is the ancient 40d still worth shooting?

I would just shoot with what you have and let that guide you if you feel you are missing shots because of your gear.

Feb 12, 2024 at 10:45 AM
garyvot
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Is the ancient 40d still worth shooting?

Personally, I still think cameras of this vintage can be rewarding to shoot, as long as you a comfortable with what you are giving up (resolution, high ISO performance, shooting speed, etc.). With modern upscaling and denoising software, even some of these limitations can be significantly mitigated, and pre-owned Canon EF-S lenses are amazing bargains right now.

Unfortunately, the first Canon APS-C DSLR to have micro-focus adjust was the 50D, I think, and so AF compatibility will be important to check and verify for any lens you use with this camera.

But it can't hurt to try it out to see if you like the results. The 40D was a well-regarded model in its day, IIRC.