New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Time to upgrade camera—looking for advice

expwmbat
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Time to upgrade camera—looking for advice

Greetings,

I’ve been using an A7II for the last 8 years, and it’s just not working well anymore—I get an error message and the camera requires me to turn it off and on again more than half the time, which makes me think it might be time to plan for a new camera.

I mostly shoot near landscapes, not at infinity, hand held macro nature stuff, and then some family/kid stuff. I like having the sensor stabilization for the lenses I use, which are all vintage film lenses. Most used lenses: Zeiss ZF 25/2.8, Canon FD 35/2 (thorium), Zeiss C Sonnar 50/1.5, Leica Macro-Elmarit R 60/2.8, Canon FDn 80-200L/4. Sometimes Canon FDn 100/2 or 300L/4. I use A mode almost exclusively and tend to allow Auto-ISO and Auto shutter speed in order to make things easier.

What advice do you have for choosing the my next digital sensor platform? I’ve had good experiences with the A7II, but haven’t tried anything with a higher resolution sensor or thinner sensor stack. I like to be able to carry my camera daily in my bag, so portability matters.

Thanks for your thoughts,
Daniel

Feb 11, 2024 at 10:14 AM
1bwana1
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Time to upgrade camera—looking for advice

Although any of Sony's latest generation full frame cameras would be a huge upgrade coming from an A7II, the A7RV is clearly the best choice for the kind of photography you are doing. It is an amazing platform.

Feb 11, 2024 at 10:31 AM
expwmbat
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Time to upgrade camera—looking for advice

Thanks.