FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Nikon z8 firmware 2.0 wildlife custom settings

Eric214
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Nikon z8 firmware 2.0 wildlife custom settings

ericbowles wrote:
A good example is photographing engagement photos (or a bride at a wedding). 95% of the photos are going to have a person as the subject. But a few photos will likely include the engagement ring and hand instead of the face of the person wearing it - and possibly the shot with the hand and ring in focus and the bride out of focus in the background. Using SD, you would simply cycle to Dynamic or Single AF area and be able to focus on the ring, then repeat the process to return to a mode with SD. You
...Show more

That may be true for a portrait photographer, but I am a wildlife photographer and I have heard people recommending to disable eye tracking/subject detection off for this genre as well. And I am out an average of about 4 days a week and never once had SD fail me other than a few random frames missing focus. Never had to pre focus like you mention either. I guess everyone has their issues though.

Feb 10, 2024 at 05:01 PM
Laslo Varadi
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Nikon z8 firmware 2.0 wildlife custom settings

ericbowles wrote:
A good example is photographing engagement photos (or a bride at a wedding). 95% of the photos are going to have a person as the subject. But a few photos will likely include the engagement ring and hand instead of the face of the person wearing it - and possibly the shot with the hand and ring in focus and the bride out of focus in the background. Using SD, you would simply cycle to Dynamic or Single AF area and be able to focus on the ring, then repeat the process to return to a mode with SD. You
...Show more
What is SD?

Feb 10, 2024 at 06:31 PM
cvrle59
• • • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · Nikon z8 firmware 2.0 wildlife custom settings

Laslo Varadi wrote:
What is SD?

Subject Detection..

Feb 10, 2024 at 07:18 PM