New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough

Whisle
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1733414-REG/angler_fastbox_24_octagonal_softbox.html

Since I have two V1 flashes this looks easy and fast to set up and hopefully large enough to do some portraits both inside and outside. I have a transmitter coming today and still need a stand so if there is any advice for that I would be grateful. I have only started using flash now for a few months so I'm in total noob world.

Jan 20, 2024 at 11:59 AM
jlafferty
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough

Tight portraits, or head and shoulders: yes.

Jan 20, 2024 at 12:45 PM
Whisle
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough

jlafferty wrote:
Tight portraits, or head and shoulders: yes.
Thanks, that's what I'm looking to do.

Jan 20, 2024 at 01:14 PM
story_teller
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough

Get a solid stand that will carry the load and a couple good sandbags. I have an Angler box and it is easy to set up and take down.

**Very important** Find a way to attach a short strap from the V1 to the softbox. The magnetic attachment is strong, but a sudden jarring of the softbox or stand can break the attachment and the V1 will go flying. Good way to lose a light.

Jan 21, 2024 at 08:01 AM

Search in Used Dept. 

dugaut
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough

Yes to the sandbags if outside. Light modifiers make great sails; even a light wind will move it.

Jan 21, 2024 at 08:08 AM
sungphoto
• • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Will a 28" Softbox be Large Enough