Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

3       4       end

Archive 2023 · The Beginning Of The End Of Fashion Photography As We Know It?

wordfool
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · The Beginning Of The End Of Fashion Photography As We Know It?

nathanlake wrote:
A lot of photographers are going to scream and holler that no AI will ever replace a good photographer. Unfortunately, I believe them to be wrong. I have been working in the field of AI since about 2005 and I can assure you that most commercial images will be computer generated (i.e. AI) within 5-10 years.

Over the past few months, even before the latest wave of publically available AI applications, I have been talking with fellow photographers and writers about where AI is headed. Writing is a wash and will eventually be 100% AI-generated. In photography, the only area that
...Show more

I tend to disagree, not least because the "intelligence" part of the overhyped label AI is a bit of a misnomer. ChatGPT and its ilk are not intelligent. It's machine learning software relying on probabilistic pattern matching to generate text from a (giant) set of existing language data. The key here is "existing" data, and the same goes for the photographic equivalents of ChatGPT -- they rely on images already created for their data sets used to make up new images.