New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

The expense of shooting film.

Desmolicious
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · The expense of shooting film.

I love film. Which is why I shoot it, a lot.

But when people say film is cheaper than digital cuz u can buy a Nikon N80 for $20 (I just did), while a FF Nikon is (for argument's sake) $1000. Shooting film is cheaper! As long as you do not shoot much film.

I've been tracking my film use since Sep 2014. From then until now - 1025 rolls. Some of it colour film, some B&W. Some E6 etc. Just rough guessing it (remember some films are much more expensive than others) picking an arbitrary number of $7/roll of film, that is $7175.

$7175 in film since end of 2014. But wait, there's more! Developing. Only in the last few years I've developed B&W myself. So again, taking that into account, I'll estimate $7/roll for all my C41, B&W, E6.

$7175 x $7 = $50,225. When I came to... I of course realized that does not include the cost of scanning. But I have been scanning myself using digicams for a long while now so just to pretend there is little cost there (I had to buy the camera, lens, stand etc), let's say $2k

$52,000 for 10 years worth of film photography. Ok, maybe saying $5000 a year makes it less painful? Eeeeesh.

EDIT!! Serious math error noted by OregonSun!

Film dev = 1025x7 =$7175.

So total cost is Film $7175 + Dev $7175 + gear to scan $2K = $16350. So $1635/yr.

I seriously feel so much better, thanks for pointing that out (I'll blame it on a long day at work..). It went from questioning my life choices to celebrating them!

Edited on Mar 09, 2023 at 08:05 PM · View previous versions

Mar 09, 2023 at 05:02 PM
retrofocus
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · The expense of shooting film.